DVD of the Week: They Call Me Trinity

This week’s Recommended DVD Release of the Week is the Trinity Twin Pack from Hen’s Tooth Video which contains the films They Call Me Trinity (1970) and Trinity Is Still My Name (1971). The Trinity movies have been available on DVD for awhile, but this new DVD set features all-new digital transfers remastered from the original Technicolor prints and both films are presented in their correct widescreen ratios for the first time.

As I mentioned back in May, I really enjoy all the Spaghetti Western comedies starring the handsome blue-eyed Italian/German actor Terence Hill (a.k.a. Mario Girotti). Both movies in the Trinity Twin Pack feature Terence Hill along with his longtime co-star Bud Spencer (a.k.a. Carlo Pedersoli) as two unlikely half-brothers who find themselves in all sorts of unusual and very funny situations in the wild and wacky west. The Trinity films parody previous Spaghetti Westerns and seem to really enjoy poking fun at the genre as well as celebrating its eccentricities.

The talented Italian director and cinematographer Enzo Barboni directed and wrote both of the Trinity movies featured in the Trinity Twin Pack and he really knows how to make entertaining slapstick comedies that appeal to all-ages. I first saw the Trinity films when I was just a kid and I still find them funny today. Both of these Trinity movies contain plenty of creative gunplay and exciting action, but the violence and bloodshed found in many Spaghetti Westerns has been replaced by lots of laughs.

To learn more about the films I recommend visiting the official Cinedelic Records site for They Call Me Trinity and for more information about the handsome and funny star of the Trinity films check out Terence Hill’s Official International Website.

The Trinity Twin Pack DVD set is currently available at Amazon and you should be able to find both movies at better online DVD rental sources like Netflix and Greencine.

6 comments

  1. I enjoyed these movies as well when I was a kid but I haven’t seen them since. I hope to have just as pleasant an experience re-watching them (whenever that happens) as I did re-watching The Land that Time Forgot a few months back, which I mentioned in a long ago comment here. Just reading about the Trinity movies bring back lots of good memories.

  2. It’s been years since I’ve seen these films. I watched them with one of my uncles who was a huge fan of westerns. I’ve always love spaghetti westerns. I’ll have to watch these again soon. See if I still love them. I’m sure I will. Thanks for mentioning. They were really amazing.

  3. I love these movies. They are definitely the high point of comedy Spaghetti Westerns, in my experience. In fact, by some distance. I just heard recently that they were released in quality editions, as they very much deserve to be treated respectfully.

  4. I’m happy to see all the affection for the Trinity films! I wish the DVDs came with more extras but at least they’re getting remastered and released in their original widescreen format.

    I think the Trinity movies are lots of fun if you enjoy slapstick silly westerns like Mel Brooks’ Blazing Saddles. It seems like a lot of people got introduced to them when they were kids and they really are terrific all-ages films that can be enjoyed by kids as well as adults. Parents should use them as gateway drugs to get their kids hooked in Spaghetti Westerns. 😉

  5. For those cheapskates out there like me. You can actually down load the first movie for free over at archive.org. Along with other films that have fallen into public domain. Plus they have a vast live music area.

Comments are closed.