The Night of the Sorcerers (1973)

La Noche de los brujos (1973)

I neglected to mention that I reviewed Amando de Ossorio’s The Night of the Sorcerers (a.k.a. La Noche de los brujos, 1973) last month for Cinedelica. Out of the five or six Amando de Ossorio films I’ve seen The Night of the Sorcerers is my least favorite, but it’s still mildly entertaining and it might be worth a look if you’ve enjoyed the director’s other movies.

Oddly enough, one of the recent Horror Roundtable questions of the week was “What’s your favourite creepy tale for around the campfire?” and I answered that it was the Velvet Ribbon story, otherwise known as the Green Ribbon story. It also goes by various other names and seems based on an original story by Washington Irving. The tale involves a lovely woman who constantly wears a ribbon around her neck and once it’s removed by some curious male protagonist, her head falls off. I was really surprised to find out that Amando de Ossorio seems to have referenced that old campfire tale when he wrote the script for The Night of the Sorcerers. I haven’t come across any other reviews of the film that seemed to make the connection, but I found it fascinating so I included a mention of it in my own review of the movie.

La Noche de los brujos (1973)

If you’d like to see more screen shots from the film you can find them in my:
Night of the Sorcerers Flickr Gallery.

12 thoughts on “The Night of the Sorcerers (1973)

  1. Keith says:

    Great pics. Whether the film is good or not, it looks like it has some beautiful eye candy in it. I’ve heard of it, but never seen it. I had heard some mixed reaction to it. I’ll have to check out the stuff about it.

  2. Jonathan Lapper says:

    So do their heads fall off when the green ribbons are removed? And it may only be mildly entertaining (I trust your opinion in these matters completely) but may I just say that the idea of peroxide vamps in leopard skin bikinis seems almost unbearably delightful.

    Have you ever watched the original soap opera “Dark Shadows”? It’s a stupid question I know, I’m sure you have. My mom watched it when I was a kid and I have vague memories (very vague, I was under five) of being confused about the vampires on my tv. I didn’t know much except that it didn’t look like those other people on tv in the daytime. I still haven’t seen them since but I know they’re on DVD now. Have you seen them on DVD?

  3. Neil says:

    It’s hard to say, I think it edges out The Ghost Galleon as a movie… although I’d say The Ghost Galleon may be better on some level for having more elements that are almost great, while Night of the Sorcerers only manages a bunch of enjoyable moments that could have added up to something better.

    I must confess not noting the green ribbons myself, and I even read your answer on The Horror Blog just shortly before watching it.

  4. cinebeats says:

    Keith – The movie is definitely a required taste. If you haven’t seen any of Amando de Ossorio’s other films I wouldn’t start with this one unless babes in fur bikinis excites you. 😉

    Jonathan – I hate giving too much away but I probably have already so yes it’s true, there is a scene in the movie when one of the leopard women gets her green ribbon removed and she seems to lose her head.

    As for Dark Shadows, I watched the first season of the original show on video back in the late ’80s but I couldn’t get hooked on it so I stopped watching. I’m afraid I found it too slow going and soap opera-ish for my own liking. Coincidently Tim Lucas over at Video Watchblog recently posted about the show coming out on DVD.

    Anna – Glad you liked the pic!

    Neil – I like any kind of “ghostly ship” horror movie so I probably enjoy that episode of The Blind Dead series more than I should. It’s a shame that The Ghost Galleon isn’t as good as it could have been, but all “ghostly ship” movies tend to be pretty awful and I’m not sure why.

  5. Chaz says:

    Hey there;

    just came across your site–will definitely be exploring more as it seems like a pretty cool place to come back to…

    Also just wanted to extend an invitation to anyone interested in this film to visit the little website I created for it…I contributed some of the promo materials used in the gallery on the DVD, and am a longtime fan of the trashy 70’s classic, so I decided to mark the occasion by making a site for it.

    http://www.nightofthesorcerers.com

  6. Neil says:

    Actually, I’m with you on the ghost ship movies. In a weird way, The Ghost Galleon is the one I actually think about the most. I suspect it would be better as its own movie rather than being tied to the mythology of the Blind Dead movies. It certainly has a lot of wonderful imagery.

  7. cinebeats says:

    Chaz – Thanks for stopping by! You have a terrific Night of the Sorcerers site and I hope that anyone interested in the movie will give it a look.

    Neil – What it up with with ghost ship movies? Someone really needs to make a great one. Maybe that should be your next film? 😉

    Keith – The Blind Dead movies are a great place to start to see more of Amando de Ossorio’s films and I also love his vampire movie Malenka. I hope to write about Malenka soon so keep an eye out for a future post about it!

  8. Gautam says:

    Kimberly- very interesting post. The thing about the green ribbons is very freaky. So when the male protagonist removes the green ribbon on one of the women as you mentioned, does he remove it specifically to kill her or does he do it accidentally? Also, once the ribbon is removed and the head seperated, is the vampire-woman dead?

    Thanks,

  9. cinebeats says:

    Hi Gautam! In the film, a woman removes the green ribbon that one of the “leopard women” is wearing while they’re fighting and she appears to die. It’s not really accidental since it sort of seems to be a choice, but it’s kind of hard to explain. Better to watch the film yourself and see the moment play out since it’s hard to describe it, but if you’re familiar with the old tale you’ll probably find the moment rather interesting.

Comments are closed.