Terence Young’s Red Sun (1971)

During the month of August TCM will play host to their annual Summer Under the Stars event and for the last few years I’ve been asked to participate in an in-house blogathon devoted to one actor who is being featured in their line-up. This year Toshiro Mifune is our man of honor and I was happy to be able to contribute a piece on one of my favorite westerns, Terence Young’s RED SUN (1971). The film isn’t flawless but very few are and with a cast that includes some of my favorite actors including Alain Delon, Charles Bronson, Ursula Andress and the man of the hour, Toshiro Mifune, it’s nearly impossible to find RED SUN anything less than charming. It’s also surprisingly entertaining! My post focuses on Mifune’s contributions to the western genre, which got him saddled (literally!) with comparisons to John Wayne throughout his career.

Follow the link to read more:
Toshiro Mifune, Japan’s John Wayne @ TCM’s Movie Morlocks