Alain Resnais 1922-2014

resnais

“When men die, they enter history. When statues die, they enter art. This botany of death is what we call culture.” – (STATUES ALSO DIE; 1953)

I was deeply saddened to wake up to the news that director Alain Resnais has died at age 91. Resnais has continued to make movies into his 90s and just last week I made time to watch YOU AIN’T SEEN NOTHING YET (2012), which I’m still ruminating over. And the director’s film JE T’AIME, JE T’AIME (which I have never seen and has never been released on video or DVD is the U.S.) has been on my radar lately because it’s currently touring revival theaters and getting lots of critical attention.

Resnais’ obsession with memory and our shared as well as personal histories is what drew me to his work and I can honestly say that he’s one of a handful of directors who – through his films – taught me new ways of looking at my world. I’ve mentioned or written a little bit about his films HIROSHIMA MON AMOUR, LAST YEAR AT MARIENBAD and MURIEL here at Cinebeats in the past and to celebrate his incredibly rich career I thought I’d share a selection of images from some of my favorite Resnais films.

At Cinebeats:
HIROSHIMA MON AMOUR appears on my List of Favorite Foreign Language Films
Art Film as Fashion Trend: LAST YEAR AT MARIENBAD
Some thoughts on the DVD release of MURIEL

Further reading:
Guardian Obituary
New York Times Obituary
Fandor: Alain Resnais, 1922 – 2014

lesstatues
STATUES ALSO DIE (1953)

nightandfogNIGHT AND FOG (1955)

hiroshima
HIROSHIMA MON AMOUR (1959)

marienbad1
LAST YEAS AT MARIENBAD (1961)

Muriel
MURIEL (1963)

providence
PROVIDENCE (1977)