Celebrate Halloween with TCM’s Movie Morlocks

All month long I’ve been writing about spooky movies and terrifying thrillers at the Movie Morlocks. Here’s a brief rundown of the various topics I tackled that should appeal to my fellow goblins & ghouls.

- Tom Chantrell: Illustrator of Nightmares – A look at one of Hammer’s most prolific movie poster artists.

- Spy Games: International espionage in… Nashville?! – I couldn’t let October pass without continuing my ongoing look at spy films but this month I focused my attention on an unusual espionage farce starring classic horror icons, John Carradine, Lon Chaney Jr. and Basil Rathbone.

- Man’s Best Fiend – Cats are usually associated with Halloween and horror movies but there have been plenty of devilish dogs featured in movies and Man’s Best Fiend focuses on some of the best examples of this phenomenon.

- The Sinister Charm of Simon Ward – The British actor passed away in July but I only heard the news a few weeks ago and October seemed like the perfect month to celebrate Simon Ward’s contributions to horror cinema.

Besides my own posts, you can find a lot more Halloween reading at the Movie Morlocks so please take a moment to visit the blog.

I also want to mention that TCM is playing a batch of great classic horror movies on October 31st including some of my favorites such as THE LAST MAN ON EARTH (1964), THE BODY SNATCHER (1945), FRANKENSTEIN (1941) and ISLAND OF LOST SOULS (1933). For more info & a complete schedule of movies being shown please visit TCM.

