British New Wave Mondays In March On TCM

Top: Tom Courtenay & Julie Christie in BILLY LIAR (1963)
Middle: Richard Lester, John Schlesinger & Tony Richardson
Bottom: Richard Harris & Rachel Roberts in THIS SPORTING LIFE (1963)

I recently took a quick look through my blog archives and discovered that I’ve written about British Cinema more than any other topic. I shouldn’t have been surprised because the truth is that I adore British Cinema and I could probably spend all my free time writing about it. One subject that particularly interests me is the British New Wave or “Kitchen Sink Dramas” released in the ’60s. When I started blogging six years ago there was very little information about the British New Wave available online. The topic was rarely discussed among blog critics and film journalists in the US. When it did come up it generated mixed reactions and very little passion. The truth is that British cinema has often gotten the short end of the critical stick but thankfully that’s slowly changing and the general outlook towards British Cinema is much more positive than it was just six short years ago.

With this in mind, I was was particularly happy to learn that TCM will be playing host to British New Wave Mondays In March. All month long British film fans will be able to tune in to TCM on Monday night and watch British films all evening until the early hours of the morning. Here’s a complete schedule of all the films being shown:

March 5

Room at the Top (1959)
The Entertainer (1960)
Saturday Night and Sunday Morning (1960)
Morgan: a Suitable Case for Treatment (1966)
Victim (1961)

March 12

A Kind of Loving (1962)
The L-Shaped Room (1962)
The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner (1962)
A Taste of Honey (1961)
Girl With Green Eyes (1964)

March 19

This Sporting Life (1963)
Billy Liar (1963)
The Servant (1963)
Seance on a Wet Afternoon (1965)
Only Two Can Play (1962)

March 26

Kes (1969)
Darling (1965)
The Pumpkin Eater (1964)
The Knack . . . and How To Get It (1965)
Petulia (1968)

You can find more information about British New Wave Mondays In March On TCM here. I’ve also tried to collect some (not all) of my relevant posts about the films, performers and directors associated with the British New Wave, which you can access by following this link:
British New Wave @ Cinebeats

I especially hope that you’ll take the time to read my article and interview with The Alan Sillitoe Committee. Alan Sillitoe is responsible for writing and scripting some of the most important films to emerge from the British New Wave and The Alan Sillitoe Committee is committed to preserving his legacy.