Davy Jones 1945 – 2012

Like millions of other young girls around the world I grew up with The Monkees. Their impact on me and my life was incredibly profound. They brought me and my girlfriends together when we were young and inspired us to want to form our own band but that’s another story for another day. Today I just wanted to acknowledge how much I loved The Monkees and their music. I watched the show religiously in re-runs during the ’70s and my memories of Jones are near and dear to my heart.

Back in January I mentioned that I had picked up some old issues of Screen Stories and one of those issues featured a cover story on The Monkees titled “The Secret Heartache of the Monkees.” It contained a back story about the band that I found particularly touching so I thought I’d scan the story as well as the cover and share it here. Coincidentally, this issue also contains a story about Christopher Plummer but I only had time to scan The Monkees story. Enjoy!



RIP Davy Jones 1945-2012

