Favorite Film Related Books of 2011 (Part I.)


The first half of my two-part list of Favorite Film Related Books of 2011 has been posted at The Movie Morlocks. It includes Rick Goldschmidt’s Rankin/Bass Mad Monster Party book as well as the new lush coffee table book Saul Bass: A Life in Film and Design and Tom Lisanti’s Dueling Harlows: Race to the Silver Screen.

From my post: “I enjoy reading about the movies I love almost as much as I enjoy watching them and this year I found myself doing a lot of reading. This was partially due to the fact that I’m more housebound lately but publishers were also very generous this year. I received many press releases as well as books for review during the last few months that caught my attention. Some books I encountered didn’t appeal to me but a surprising number of them kept me eagerly turning pages until I was finished reading. From lush coffee table gift books to intimate autobiographies, the range of interesting reading material I came across in 2011 was surprising, thought provoking and entertaining so I decided to compile a two-part list of my favorite film related books of the year. Some of the books on my list are fun and frivolous, while others are more weightier affairs. No matter what your reading tastes might be; these selections should appeal to all types of film fans.”

The second half of my two-part list will be posted next Thursday. Please follow the link below to read more:
Favorite Film Related Books of 2011 (Part I.) @ TCM’s Classic Movie Blog

