Frankenstein: “It’s Alive!”

fpc01
I rarely get out to see new films for a variety of reasons. First and foremost is my lack of disposable income but my desire to see new films is also limited by my tastes as well as geography. I simply have little interest in what’s currently playing at my local multiplex and very few options to see foreign and independent films. So what finally got me out of the house? Danny Boyle’s stage adaptation of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. To say I’m obsessed with Shelley’s original book is an understatement but in short, I’ve seen every film adaptation of Frankenstein that I could get my hands on and I didn’t want to miss the opportunity to see Danny Boyle’s take on Frankenstein, which happens to feature an absolutely terrific cast that includes Jonny Lee Miller (Trainspotting; 1996, Byron; 2003), Benedict Cumberbatch (Atonement; 2007 , Sherlock; 2010) and Naomie Harris (28 Days Later; 2002, Tristram Shandy: A Cock and Bull Story; 2005).
Frankenstein: "It's Alive!"
The play is currently a huge hit on the London stage but American audiences have the opportunity to see it performed live in selected movie theaters across the country throughout the month of April. You can find my lengthy look at Danny Boyle’s Frankenstein over at TCM’s Movie Morlocks blog as well as a link to the National Theatre site where you can find showtimes and purchase tickets to this exciting event.
Frankenstein: “It’s Alive!” @ TCM’s Classic Movie Blog

