Remembering Ingrid Pitt 1937-2010

ingridpitt

Hammer Glamour girl, Ingrid Pitt has suddenly passed away at age 73 due to heart failure. Her unexpected death took me by surprise and my condolences go out to her friends and family.

One of my fondest blogging memories occurred in 2007. After writing up a brief birthday tribute for Ingrid Pitt and receiving a few comments from other fans, the actress herself stopped by my blog and left me a note (still posted there) in which she said:

“Mind-blowing! It really is wonderful to have so many people wishing me good fortune as I enter the ranks of the septuagenarians. I’m only sorry I didn’t find this site earlier so that I could thank you all.”

I was stunned and absolutely thrilled that the actress took the time to read and respond to my blog post. Her generous nature was made more apparent when we exchanged a few brief emails after she left her comment. I was rather star struck because as I mentioned in my birthday tribute to the actress, Ingrid Pitt has always been one of my favorite Hammer Glamour girls. Her bold, sassy and uninhibited nature came across in every Hammer film she was in and she never shied away from her past or made excuses for appearing in horror films. Ingrid embraced her history and celebrated it. She was proud of her roles in movies like The Vampire Lovers (1970), Countess Dracula (1971), The House That Dripped Blood (1971) and The Wicker Man (1973). And of course she should be. Her beauty, brains and sense of humor shouldn’t be underestimated. Ingrid Pitt was the real “bad girl” of Hammer studio and and her edgy performances often dominated the movies she was in. She could be extremely seductive but unlike countless other onscreen beauties that have bared their fangs for the camera, Ingrid also knew how to generate fear.

I’m incredibly thankful that Ingrid took the time to contact me because it gave me the opportunity to tell her how much I admired her and appreciated her work. She was a very special lady and she’ll be sincerely missed.

Recommended Links:
BBC News Obituary: Hammer horror actress Ingrid Pitt dies aged 73
Pitt of Horror (Ingrid Pitt’s Official Site)
Ingrid Pitt’s Film Column @ Den of Geek
Hammer Films (Official Site)