Dance With The Devil

The Mephisto Waltz
Barbara Parkins in The Mephisto Waltz (1971)

Apologies for the lack of updates but as usual, life keeps getting in the way of my blogging plans. I promise to try and post something else here in the next few days but in meantime you can find my latest Bewitching Movies update over at TCM’s Movie Morlocks Blog. In my latest post I discuss the 1971 occult film The Mephisto Waltz, which I originally saw on TV sometime in the late ’70s when I was about 12-years-old. It scared me silly then and I still think the film has a lot to offer horror fans. It features standout performance from two actresses I like a hell of a lot, the beautiful Jacqueline Bissett and Barbara Parkins, as well as a great Jerry Goldsmith score and some wonderfully creepy sequences that would have made Joseph Losey proud. Some might argue that Bissett and Perkins are Satanists who don’t exactly play witches in The Mephisto Waltz but they both practice black magic. Part of the movie’s appeal is its vague representation of religion and magic. So pull up a chair and get that cauldron boiling. It’s time to dance The Mephisto Waltz at the Movie Morlocks.

I also put together a collection of images from the film that you can find in my Mephisto Waltz Flickr Gallery.