Bewitching Movies October 1-31 @ Cinebeats

crimsoncbanner
By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes.” – Witch
(from William Shakespeare’s Macbeth)

Horror films are currently trendy. There’s just no getting around that fact. But something seems to be amiss between the teenage vampires, 3D piranhas and countless remakes of classic horror films that Hollywood churns out month after month. I think this trend mirrors something deeply troubling that is echoed in the hollow entertainment filling up our multiplexes as I type this. We live in fearful times. People are afraid of their neighbors, their politicians, their doctors and their own shadows. They’re afraid of losing their jobs, losing their freedoms, losing their homes and losing their minds. Our televisions transmit fear daily to remind us that we’re too fat, too skinny, too old and too young. People seem content to live in a state of fear and they remain in that state continually. I love horror movies. I love the rush of excitement I feel whenever I spot a ghost floating across my TV screen during a William Castle production or the thrill that I get every time I see Christopher Lee rise from a coffin. But I don’t live my life in fear. Maybe that’s why I don’t follow trends? I’m not afraid of being slightly out of step with the rest of the world. I watch more old movies than new ones. Most of the music I listen to was released before 1989 and I prefer buying second-hand goods instead new things whenever possible because the world is producing too much crap. But I digress.

The point of this post is to announce that Cinebeats is going to be trendy this October and indulge in all things spooky and scary. As I’ve said countless times before, horror is my favorite film genre but I don’t write about horror films enough. In an effort to satisfy my cinematic cravings and celebrate one of the best months of the year I’m going to be joining many of my fellow film bloggers including Arbogast on Film, Greg at Cinemastyles and Bob at Eternal Sunshine of the Logical Mind; and for the next 31 days I’ll be spending all of my free time writing about horror movies. But not just any horror movies. I’m going to focus all of my attention on witches. Not scary politicians, mother-in-laws or your friendly neighborhood Wiccans. I’ll be writing about movie witches that enchant me, fascinate me and frighten me. I probably won’t be able to post something every day but when I’m able to I will. You can expect to see more than one weekly update at Cinebeats during the month of October.

You’ll find my first post about movie witches over at TCM’s Movie Morlocks blog. Today I shared some thoughts about one of my favorite H.P. Lovecraft adaptations; The Crimson Cult (aka Curse of the Crimson Altar; 1968), which features the fabulous Barbara Steele as a beautiful green skinned witch called Lavinia. Want to know more? Check out It’s Lovecraft Season.

