35 Years of The Rocky Horror Picture Show

rh
Whatever happened to Fay Wray?
That delicate satin draped frame.
As it clung to her thigh, how I started to cry
‘Cause I wanted to be dressed just the same.
Give yourself over to absolute pleasure.
Swim the warm waters of sins of the flesh.
Erotic nightmares beyond any measure.
And sensual daydreams to treasure forever.
Can’t you just see it? Whoa ho ho!
Don’t dream it, be it.
Don’t dream it, be it.

– Dr. Frank-N-Furter (Tim Curry in The Rocky Horror Picture Show, 1975)

Edward Copeland recently celebrated the 35th Anniversary of The Rocky Horror Picture Show over at his film blog. As part of the celebration he asked his fellow bloggers to contribute their own memories and thoughts about the film. I couldn’t resist participating myself and you can find some of my own thoughts about the movie posted there as well as contributions from Matt Zoller Seitz, Ivan G. Shreve, Jr., Joe Baltake, etc.

I would like, if I may, to take you on a strange journey

