Summer Under the Stars: Steve McQueen

stevemc2
Steve McQueen in Le Mans (1971)

On Tuesday, August 3rd, Turner Classic Movies is continuing its annual Summer Under the Stars event and devoting the entire day to the work of another one of my favorite actors, Steve McQueen. They’ll be running many of my favorite McQueen films including his 1971 film Le Mans and I wrote a piece about this amazing movie for the TCM website, which you can find online. Some of the other McQueen films scheduled to play tomorrow are The Blob (1958), The Great Escape (1963), The Magnificent Seven (1960), Bullitt (1968), Junior Bonner (1972) and The Cincinnati Kid (1965).

I also recently wrote a piece about another one of my favorite Steve McQueen films; Baby the Rain Must Fall (1965). Baby the Rain Must Fall will be showing on August 26th during TCM’s Summer Under the Stars day long tribute to the actress Lee Remick who stars in the movie with Steve McQueen.

I’ve been eager to write about both films for some time now so I was happy to get the opportunity to revisit them again. Le Mans and Baby the Rain Must Fall are two of the most important films that Steve McQueen made during his impressive career and I’m glad that TCM viewers will get the chance to see them both this month.

Summer Under the Stars: Steve McQueen in Le Mans (1971)
Summer Under the Stars: Lee Remick & Steve McQueen in Baby the Rain Must Fall (1965)

steve2
Steve McQueen and Lee Remick in Baby the Rain Must Fall (1965)

