The Navy vs. The Night Monster

Mamie Van Doren
Mamie Van Doren

I’ve been really busy lately so I haven’t had a lot of free time to update but I just posted a little piece about a ’60s science fiction thriller called The Navy vs. The Night Monsters (1965) over at the Movie Morlocks.

I first saw The Navy vs. The Night Monsters on television when I was a kid and the movie fascinated me. It had acid spewing tree monsters, spectacular Navy air battles and starred the beautiful Mamie Van Doren. The movie was recently released on DVD for the first time so I watched again but it didn’t exactly live up to my expectations. It’s still a fun low budget movie that might appeal to fans of Day of the Triffids (1962) or The Thing from Another World (1951). The production suffered from time constraints, financial woes and creative difficulties and it shows in the final product but imaginative viewers might be able to spot some remnants of what could have been a great film in The Navy vs. The Night Monsters.

