Emilio Vieyra (1920-2010)

ev
Emilio Vieyra (1920-2010)

I recently learned that director Emilio Vieyra passed away on January 25th at age 89 thanks to a tribute to the director written by Robert Monell for his blog.

As Robert pointed out, Emilio Vieyra was often referred to as the “Roger Corman of Argentina” because he also produced and wrote his own films but unfortunately Vieyra is not very well known outside of Latin America. I’ve only had the opportunity to see three of the directors movies myself (Blood of the Virgins aka Sangre de vírgenes; 1967, The Curious Dr. Humpp aka La venganza del sexo (1969) and Feast of Flesh aka Placer Sangriento; 1967) but I’ve wanted to write something about his work for a long time. His low-budget horror films stand-out from his contemporaries due to their surreal atmosphere, impressive cinematography and creative use of sound. There’s something mesmerizing about Emilio Vieyra’s work that is almost intangible but once you’ve seen an Emilio Vieyra’s film you never forget it.

Here’s a set of still shots from his film Feast of Flesh that I took a few years ago and had in my Cinebeats Flickr Gallery. Today seems like an appropriate time to share them. They’re beautiful frames and show off Emilio Vieyra’s obvious talent for composition and lighting. Besides directing, writing, producing and acting in his own films, Emilio Vieyra was also responsible for the production design in Feast of Flesh and that could be why it’s my favorite Vieyra film.
Placer sangriento (1967)

Placer sangriento (1967)

Placer sangriento (1967)

Placer sangriento (1967)

Placer sangriento (1967)

Placer sangriento (1967)

Placer sangriento (1967)

Placer sangriento (1967)

Placer sangriento (1967)

Recommended Links:
Emilio Vieyra (1920-2010)
Emilio Vieyra’s Wikipedia Page
Emilio Vieyra’s IMDB Page

6 thoughts on “Emilio Vieyra (1920-2010)

  1. Uranium Willy says:

    This was a cool flick. I reviewed it over the Uranium Cafe a while back and have since gotten The Curious Dr. Humpp. I have not watched that one yet but skimmed over it checking the quality and looks more interesting, though Feast of Flesh was great. thanks for helping to spread the word about the films and the director. heres my link if you want to check out my humble attempt at commenting on Feast of Flesh. http://uraniumcafe-the.com/2009/06/22/emilo-vieyras-weird-psycho-film-from-argentinia-placer-sangriento/

    Good stuff

    Bill D. Courtney

  2. Maya says:

    Once again, Kimberly, you turn me on to a filmmaker I’ve never heard of, and one from South America no less! Off to Netflix to see if they have any of these titles available.

  3. Kimberly Lindbergs says:

    Thanks for the feedback!

    I’m happy to spread the word about Vierya since I think he’s an underrated director. He made low-budget horror films but they sure had a lot of style and he wrote really unusual scripts. I’d like to see more of his films so I hope they find their way onto DVD in the future.

  4. Sofia says:

    Dear Kimberly,

    I’d just like to thank you for your wonderful blog 🙂 I’m a regular visitor (based in Denmark) although I’ve never left a comment before. The stills you’ve chosen for this post are simply fantastic and inspired me to comment today!
    Keep up the good work and rest assured that there are many “silent” visitors to this blog who feel real appreciation.
    (also loved your bit on Salinger and your criticism of all those who just copy paste.. how very true and to the point!)

    Best of luck!

Comments are closed.