Ennio Morricone’s My Dear Killer OST

gh
George Hilton in My Dear Killer aka Mio Caro Assassino (1972)

This month Digitmovies is scheduled to release Ennio Morricone’s incredible score for the excellent giallo thriller My Dear Killer aka Mio Caro Assassino (1972). This will be the 9th volume from Italy’s Digitmovies devoted to the original soundtrack recordings of Ennio Morricone and if it’s as good as their previous releases Morricone fans are in for a real treat!

My Dear Killer happens to be one of my favorite giallo films and it was directed by Tonino Valerii who made some great Italian westerns such as My Name is Nobody (1973), but he is probably best known for his work as an assistant director to Sergio Leone during the making of A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and For a Few Dollars More (1965). My Dear Killer was Tonino Valerii’s only giallo film but it’s a smart, creative and surprising thriller that offered its talented star (George Hilton) one of his best roles. In the film Hilton plays a police inspector trying to solve a gruesome series of crimes that may or may not be connected to the kidnapping and murder of a young girl that took place years earlier. Besides George Hilton’s standout performance as Inspector Luca Peretti, My Dear Killer also features one of Ennio Morricone’s most creepy and effective scores.

A few of the tracks from Morricone’s soundtrack for My Dear Killer have been released before on compilation CDs, but the upcoming Digitmovies CD will mark the first time that Morricone’s complete score for My Dear Killer has been made available in any form.

This impressive soundtrack includes haunting vocals provided by the brilliant Edda Dell’Orso who worked closely with the composer on many of his best film scores. All together the CD contains a total of 17 remastered tracks and it’s available just in time for Halloween. If you’re a Morricone fan or just enjoy genuinely eerie film soundtracks you’re definitely going to want to pick up a copy of the My Dear Killer OST.

You can currently purchase new and used copies of the soundtrack for My Dear Killer aka Mio Caro Assassino at Amazon. At the moment these CDs are a little hard to come by since they’re imported from Italy but Digitmovies is still in the process of shipping out orders so check back at Amazon often.

The film is also available on DVD from Amazon and you should be able to rent it at Netflix.com or Greencine.com

I’ve posted the trailer for My Dear Killer aka Mio Caro Assassino below since it also features samples of Ennio Morricone’s score, but if you’ve never seen the movie before you might want to avoid watching it. It’s a great clip (not exactly work safe) but it also happens to be one of the most spoiler filled trailers I’ve ever seen.

4 thoughts on “Ennio Morricone’s My Dear Killer OST

  1. Bill says:

    Kimberly

    Have not been able to get into your site for a long, long time. Hopefully that problem is resolved for a while. You have a new design since I was last here.I need to catch up with a few posts to see where you are these days, but at a quick glance it al look great so far.

    Bill

  2. Kimberly Lindbergs says:

    Hi Bill! Thanks for stopping by. I recently made some minor changes in an effort to make navigating my blog easier since the layout seemed to confuse some people. Glad you like it and I hope all is well in your part of the world!

  3. Andrew Monroe says:

    Hi Kimberly, I love this soundtrack too! The “La La La” children’s vocal tune is particularly haunting. I have the old cd release from CAM that doubled this up with LE MANI SPORCHE, only 7 tracks from KILLER are included so I’m really excited about the expanded disc from DigitMovies. My preorder is in at MovieGrooves, can’t wait. Love the new look here btw.

  4. Kimberly Lindbergs says:

    Hi Andrew! I totally agree with you about the vocal tracks on the soundtrack. Very eerie stuff. I didn’t own the previous CD but I’m definitely going to pick this up soon since I think it’s one of Morricone’s most interesting scores. Glad you like the blog changes!

Comments are closed.