Modern Mondays: Shaun of the Dead (2004)

MV5BMTIyMzE0OTg5Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwODcyMzU3._V1._SX485_SY322_

Hilarious, smart and extremely relevant. Shaun of the Dead (2004) is one of my favorite comedies of the last decade. Before I saw the film I thought zombie comedy had been played out, but Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg proved me wrong. The film has been written about a lot and I don’t think I have much to add to what’s already been said, but I will say that if you haven’t had the opportunity to see Shaun of the Dead yet do yourself a favor and give it a look. It should be available from most DVD sellers and renters.

shaun_of_the_dead_group

Modern Mondays is an ongoing project here at Cinebeats where I share a few thoughts or lengthy rants and raves about my favorite films produced during the last decade. Films previously mentioned on Modern Mondays include:

The Left Bank (2008)
Love Songs (2007)
Bright Future (2003)
Control (2007)
The Quiet American (2001)
A History of Violence (2005)
This Is England (2007)

8 thoughts on “Modern Mondays: Shaun of the Dead (2004)

  1. Dennis Cozzalio says:

    Amen! I did the captions for SOTD several months before it came out here. I’d never heard of it and supposed it was just gonna be another crap movie, but it was so nice to be proved wrong!

    In that vein, have you seen the trailer for ZOMBIELAND, Kimberly? It looks like a lot of fun, yet strangely familiar… 🙂

  2. Kimberly Lindbergs says:

    I was really surprised by Shaun of the Dead, but it’s easily one of the funniest movies I’ve seen in the last 10 years. 🙂

    I did see the trailer for Zombieland and it could be really entertaining or it could be a mess. It’s hard to tell from the trailer and I’m always afraid that I’ve heard every zombie joke before. I’m looking forward to checking it out though!

  3. Steve Langton says:

    Put me down as another huge Shaun fan. Endlessly entertaining. Hard to pick out any standout moments, but absolutely love that ‘Don’t Stop Me Now’ segment.
    What do you think of Hot Fuzz, Kimberley? I enjoy it as much as Shaun.

  4. Kimberly Lindbergs says:

    Shaun of the Dead has some terrific moments! I’m really fond of the record tossing scene, which always manages to crack me up.

    I did see Hot Fuzz and enjoyed it a lot. I was surprised by the negative critical reaction it seemed to get since I thought it was a great parody of British horror films like The Wicker Man, etc.

    What do you think of Spaced by the way? I’ve been wanting to check it out but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  5. Kith says:

    One of the great things in Shaun of the Dead is the presence of Dylan Moran ! He is too rare on the big screen.

    Spaced is good, if you are into goofy humor mostly based on pop culture trivia. Among other definitive statements, Simon Pegg’s character (Tim) says that every odd number Star Trek movie are bad. Of course he recanted while doing promo for the new movie (Star Trek 11) !

  6. Kimberly Lindbergs says:

    Kith – I’ve only seen Dylan Moran in one other film (A Cock and Bull Story) so I’m not very familiar with him, but I do like him.

    And thanks for the “thumb’s up” on Spaced! The series is on DVD so I’ve been contemplating checking it out. Now I’ll add it to me Netflix que.

  7. Steve Langton says:

    Same here, Kimberly. Spaced has so far eluded me. Must catch it asap.
    Yep, Hot Fuzz does remind us of The Wicker Man. Top film.

  8. Kith says:

    I almost forgot that Dylan Moran had a part in A Cock and Bull Story ! I associate him mostly with Bernard Black, his part in the sitcom Black Books. With Bill Bailey and Tamsin Greig, they made such a great trio !

Comments are closed.