Happy Birthday Janet Leigh!

Janet Leigh

Just thought I’d let my readers know that TCM is celebrating Janet Leigh’s birthday today and showing a nice selection of films she appeared in during her lifetime including Psycho (1960), The Manchurian Candidate (1962), Houdini (1953) and Who Was That Lady? (1960). You can also catch her starring alongside Stewart Granger in Scaramouche (1952) tomorrow night. More information and showtimes can be found at TCM’s Official website.

Janet would have been 82 on July 6th, but she passed away in 2004. She left an impressive filmography behind, but I’ve always been especially fond of the films she made during the ’60s. If you’d like to know more about Janet Leigh I highly recommend TCM’s brief, but informative bio that you can find here.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Janet Leigh!

  1. Peter Nellhaus says:

    I saw Who was that Lady? on DVD not too long ago. As you know, I’ve been a fan of Leigh, but what was really interesting was to see Dean Martin and Tony Curtis switching quite ably between comedy and drama.

    Leigh should have been shown some Oscar love. Arguably, she was in several of her director’s best films.

  2. Kimberly Lindbergs says:

    I think Leigh is often underrated as an actress and like Dean Martin and Tony Curtis, she also did drama and comedy very well.

    As for the Oscar… the Academy often gets it wrong, but I’ve always thought Leigh should have won for Psycho when she was up against Shirley Jones.

Comments are closed.