Bob Wilkins 1932-2009

Bob Wilkins & Christopher Lee
Bob Wilkins interviewing Christopher Lee for Creature Features (1974)

I’m terribly sad to report that my favorite Horror Host Bob Wilkins passed away at the age of 76 on January 7th due to complications from his long battle with Alzheimer’s disease. No other person besides my father has influenced and shaped the way I view movies as much as Bob Wilkins. Bob will be greatly missed by myself and his legion of devoted Bay Area fans.

I wrote a long and deeply personal tribute to Bob two years ago that you can read here.

My well wishes go out to his close friends and family who are mourning his passing. Cheers, Bob!

Recommended Links:
Bob Wilkins Official Site
– San Francisco Chronicle’s obituary for Bob Wilkins
– August Ragone has posted a great tribute to Bob at his blog The Good, the Bad and the Godzilla

4 thoughts on “Bob Wilkins 1932-2009

  1. cinebeats says:

    Terrence – Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Bob influenced a generation of Bay Area kids and it’s nice to know that he had so many fans.

    Jason – It is rough news! 2009 has gotten off to a rocky start. I suspect that we’ll see a lot more classic actors leave the stage before the year is over since no one is getting any younger.

  2. August Ragone says:

    Kimberly,
    We both had a strong connection with Bob Wilkins, as did tens (hundreds) of thousands of other fans, young and old, in those days — and still do. I’d like to let you know that a big memorial event is being discussed to take place soon in San Francisco. We hope that you’ll help us spread the word once we can make the formal announcement.

    Remember, “Watch Horror Films: Keep America Strong!”

    Cheers,
    August

Comments are closed.