Paracinema #4

The new issue of Paracinema Magazine has just become available and it’s a doozy! It contains a terrific indepth study of Hitchcock’s Vertigo as well as pieces on Takashi Miike’s Ichi The Killer, Melvin Van Peebles’ Sweet Sweetback’s Baadasssss Song and Jacques Tourneur’s The Leopard Man. There are also lengthy articles on the films of Gaspar Noe and a look at Skate Cinema: From Memory Screen to Gummo. I was especially impressed with Seth Watter’s piece on Eastern European Cinema and Its Discontents: Nazism and the Aesthetic of Excess since it’s an area I’m deeply interested in and horror fans like myself should enjoy James McCormick’s history of the rise and fall of Nunsploitation films.

I’m especially grateful that the magazine decided to highlight Cinebeats in its ongoing Dawn of the Blog column. They were very generous with their praise and I can’t thank them enough. From the magazine:

The focus of Cinebeats is not just on the films themselves , but also on the icons that brought them to life. From Lucio Fulci to Ann-Margret, Kimberly’s coverage of the people who made the “platinum age” great is expansive. No one genre is focused on and nothing is ignored. The posts are informative and often touching as Lindbergs unpologetically infuses her memories and personal attachments into her film writings.”

They know how to make a girl blush!

When I first started Cinebeats there weren’t many bloggers writing about ’60s and ’70s era films and those that did often took a tongue-in-cheek approach to reviewing genre movies. A lot has changed in the last 3 years, but I’m really happy that I decided to start blogging since it has helped me focus on my writing more and I’ve met some terrific people in the process. I never expected that Cinebeats would be mentioned in a magazine featuring a cover image of one of my favorite directors, but I’d be a liar if I said that it didn’t make my day. As a matter of fact, it made my week!

If you’re interested in picking up a copy of the new issue of Paracinema Magazine you can purchase it from select retailers or order it directly online. For more information please visit the official Paracinema Magazine site.

9 thoughts on “Paracinema #4

  1. Neil says:

    Indeed. Congratulations on a well-deserved notice.

    And of course I like the way you view the subject matter, but more than that I like… er, how you handle the way you view the… How you write about you view of the subject matter! There. The sentence is still wonky, but the message is clear. Yay!

  2. Jonathan Lapper says:

    Congatulations on the well deserved recognition. I’m jealous as always but never resentful because you deserve all the recognition you can get. Cinebeats is a great blog, one we can all aspire to.

  3. Vanwall says:

    Congrats on your recognition – few blogs are as interesting or entertainingly informative as Cinebeats. Keep up the great work!

Comments are closed.