Ishiro Honda Online!

Ishiro Honda

Last week the English language version of Ishiro Honda’s official website debuted online with very little fanfare, but I highly recommend stopping by the site to see the wonderful collection of materials on display there!

Ishiro Honda (1911-1993) is one of Japan’s most important filmmakers and his body of work includes Godzilla (1954), Rodan (1955), The Mysterians (1957), Mothra (1961), Matango (1963), Destroy All Monsters (1968) and Latitude Zero (1969). His acclaimed science fiction and fantasy films have influenced and informed popular culture around the world, but he also worked with his dear friend Akira Kurosawa on some of the director’s greatest films such as Stray Dog (1949) and Ran (1985).

At the new website you’ll find a filmography for Ishiro Honda illustrated with many wonderful photos and colorful movie poster reproductions, as well as a biography and interesting essays written by people who worked with Honda. You’ll also be able to read personal messages from the director’s wife and son Ryuji, who is busy making plans for a world-wide celebration to honor the 100th Anniversary of his father’s birth in 2011.

If one gets upset due to some anger, it only makes things that much more painful. What lives must die, what has shape will eventually crumble. Fatigue is only felt when one gets bored of what he is now doing. My husband has left me with lots and lots of great words, which I often recall. Although he is no longer with us, his presence is still very strong in our hearts.
– Kimi Honda (the director’s wife)

According to the news blurb on the site more updates are planned, including the translation and publication of informative essays written by Ishiro Honda himself, so check back often!

The Official Ishiro Honda Website

7 thoughts on “Ishiro Honda Online!

  1. Jonathan Lapper says:

    Thanks for the heads up. The site looks great, I just wish the stills that accompany each movie were thumbnails you could click on to get a larger image because there are a lot of great shots there.

  2. Keith says:

    Hey Kimberly. Thanks for posting about it. Wow. It looks awesome. I’ll have to check it out again when I have more time. Hope you have a good week.

  3. Fox says:

    Kimberly-

    Your watchful eye is as much an asset to us as your obscure taste in movies. Example: I can’t get that Satan’s Sadists movie out of my head since your post last week.

  4. August Ragone says:

    Kimberly,
    Just want to let you know how much I enjoy your blog (were we separated at birth?)… But, I also want to let you know that the top photo on your entry about the Honda website is not Honda—it’s actually Eiji Tsuburaya, the director of visual effects. I just thought that you’d like to know.

    Otherwise, keep up the excellent work!

    Cheers,
    August

  5. cinebeats says:

    I hope everyone will go check out the new site because it’s really terrific!

    Jonathan – I wish some of the photos were a bit bigger too but I’m just thankful for what’s there. It’s shaping into a terrific site!

    Rick & Keith – I’m happy to share the link!

    Fox – Thanks! Exposing people to obscure films and TV shows that they may have never seen is one of the main reasons I started my blog.

    Neil – I think you’ll really be surprised by the wealth of stuff available on the site!

    August – Thanks so much for the nice words about Cinebeats! It’s funny, but I thought the top photo may have been Eiji, but damn if the two men don’t look a lot of like! Shame on me. I should have asked you before posting the photo, but I assumed it was Honda. I made some changes to the pic so thanks again!

Comments are closed.