Cinema Retro #12

A few weeks ago the newest issue of Cinema Retro arrived in my mailbox and I finally had the opportunity to read it last night. The magazine features a lengthy in-depth look at the 1971 film Vanishing Point as well as an interview with the movie’s director Richard C. Sarafian. Car films from the ’70s like Two-Lane Blacktop and Vanishing Point seem to be getting a lot of attention lately and I suspect that it’s primarily due to interest in Quentin Tarantino’s 2007 grindhouse effort Death Proof. I haven’t seen Death Proof myself, but after looking at the previews and reading a few reviews of the film, it seems that Tarantino’s movie references these films a lot. If you’re a fans of ’70s car films or just curious about one of the movies that influenced Tarantino’s Death Proof, you won’t want to miss the latest issue of Cinema Retro.

The new issue also contains interesting articles on the James Bond spy spoof Operation Kid Brother that starred Neil Connery (Sean Connery’s younger brother), a detailed overview of the films of British comedic actor Frankie Howard, ongoing interviews with director Joe Dante and Man From U.N.C.L.E. stars David McCallum and Robert Vaughn, as well as information about the recent Goldfinger reunion that reunited many of the film’s crew and stars; plus a brief look at actor Roger Moore’s associations with Britain’s Pinewood Studios.

My favorite piece in the new issue of Cinema Retro is John Exhsaw’s fascinating look at Don Sharp’s 1975 thriller Hennessy. I’m a fan of many of Don Sharp’s early horror films such as The Kiss of the Vampire (1963), Curse of the Fly (1965), Rasputin: The Mad Monk (1966) and Psychomania (1973) but I hadn’t heard of Hennessy before. According to the article the film stars the great Rod Stieger as an Irishman named Niall Hennessy with connections to the IRA. After Hennessy’s family is killed in a violent skirmish between Belfast citizens and British troops, he begins to plot his revenge and makes plans to blow-up Parliament and kill the Queen of England. The movie also features Richard Johnson (love him!), Lee Remick, Trevor Howard and Patrick Stewart in his first film role. When the movie was released in Britian in 1975 it caused quite a controversy. And when the film finally debuted in America critics apparently didn’t care for it and Hennessy quickly disappeared from theaters. Currently Hennessy only seems available on video but hopefully John Exhsaw’s informative article about the film will encourage people like myself to seek it out. Hennessy seems extremely topical and I suspect that if the movie was released on DVD today it would find a large audience.

The latest issue of Cinema Retro can be purchased directly from the magazine’s official site.

9 thoughts on “Cinema Retro #12

  1. Peter Nellhaus says:

    I actually saw Hennessy back when it came out. I don’t remember too much of it but agree that it is should be seen again, especially in light of Jim Sheridan’s films. Just the cast alone makes the film worth seeking out.

  2. cinebeats says:

    I hope Hennessy gets released on DVD in the future. The videos I’ve come across aren’t cheap and the quality is probably really poor. It seems like an interesting film that has the potential to appeal to a lot of people.

  3. Caroline says:

    I got this issue, it’s absoutly wonderful! I love the article on Operation Kid Brother (which I didn’t even know existed!), and Hennesey which I’ve been dying to see as Rod Steiger is one of my favorite actors. Kudos for mentioning this great issue, but I shouldn’t expect any less. Not to blow smoke up your ass, but I think your blog is the best I’ve encountered.

  4. cinebeats says:

    Thanks for blowing smoke up my ass, Caroline! 😉

    Seriously though, I appreciate your comment and I’m glad you picked up a copy of the magazine. Rod Steiger is a brilliant actor and I really hope I can see Hennessy sometime. It looks like a fascinating film and I suspect that Steiger is probably terrific in it.

  5. Lee Pfeiffer says:

    Kimberly;
    Thanks to you and the other readers for your kind comments about the latest issue of Cinema Retro. We especially appreciate your enjoyment of John Exshaw’s in-depth examination of Rod Steiger’s Hennessey, a fine film that is largely forgotten. It represents the kind of overlooked gem we try to focus the spotlight on. Keep up the great work with your amazing site.

  6. Keith says:

    Hey Kimberly. Looks like a great issue. Love the cover. I’m a big fan of movies like Vanishing Point. Watched it again not long ago. I loved Tarantino’s Death Proof. He definitely references this and some other films as well. Hope you get a chance to see it. Some people loved it, while others hated it.

  7. cinebeats says:

    Lee – You’re more than welcome! I enjoyed this issue a lot and I love being introduced to films that I’ve never heard of before. Many thanks for the kind words about Cinebeats!!

    Keith – I think you’d really enjoy this issue. The Vanishing Point story has lots of great images from the film and behind-the-scenes stuff as well.

Comments are closed.