Filmmaking & Politics in 1968

The following four videos make up a fascinating 40 min. film by D.A. Pennebaker called Two American Audiences: La Chinoise – A Film in the Making. It chronicles a meeting that took place in 1968 between director Jean-Luc Godard and NYU film students who discuss Godard’s film La Chinoise, filmmaking and politics.


Two American Audiences: La Chinoise – A Film in the Making Part I.


Two American Audiences: La Chinoise – A Film in the Making Part II.


Two American Audiences: La Chinoise – A Film in the Making Part III.


Two American Audiences: La Chinoise – A Film in the Making Part IV.

Godard’s La Chinoise (1967) was released by Koch Lorber on DVD earlier this year.

4 thoughts on “Filmmaking & Politics in 1968

  1. Vanwall says:

    My son had some classes at university under Jean-Pierre Gorin, who collaborated with Godard on a number of films. He picked up a fair amount of background on Godard, who certainly made some interesting commentary on politics over the years. This is a nice link I’ll send the kid!

  2. Robert Monell says:

    Thanks. I want to get this DVD. I’m one who actually likes Godard’s “political” films. Even his Rolling Stones SYMPATHY FOR THE DEVIL is a statement on the politics of popular culture and I would recommend that DVD.

  3. cinebeats says:

    Glad you enjoyed the clips. As far as I know this film isn’t available anywhere so I was really surprised to come across the whole thing on youtube.

    I’m fond of Godard’s documentary on The Rolling Stones as well. Great stuff!

  4. Cris says:

    i absolutely lovr lovr your blog. such a wonderful films… it burst my heart to see someone with my own tastes in cinema and so brilliantly commented posts. thnak you thank you thank you.

Comments are closed.