Behind the Blog


Me in the ’70s

Early last month Nick Dawson kindly asked me to take part in an interview for the terrific FilmInFocus.com site. The interview is now available online as their current Behind the Blog feature. In the rather lengthy interview I talk about why I enjoy writing about movies and how I got interested in blogging. I was extremely surprised that Nick asked me to take part in an interview and I’m grateful that he finds my blog worth reading.

Behind the Blog: Kimberly Lindbergs of Cinebeats

Some observant readers may notice that the interview took place before there was so much navel-gazing going on among my fellow film bloggers. I mention some blogs that have since gone on hiatus in the interview and I don’t address the fact that due to staff cuts I’m no longer writing for Cinedelica.com.

My blog has been suffering a bit lately due to the fact that I’ve got a lot of personal things I’m dealing with at the moment, including hunting for freelance writing and graphic/web design work, which is extremely hard to come by. The economy is in deep trouble and like many fine folks working in all kinds of professions, I’m having a hard time trying to pay my bills. Hopefully I’ll have more free time for film writing soon but I wanted to mention that last month Cinebeats celebrated its second anniversary. I’m extremely grateful that 1000+ visitors take the time to stop by Cinebeats every day. This is not a vanity project and I don’t expect to get rich writing about movies. I write about movies I like simply because I love talking about the films I enjoy.

Some people play golf to relax and others like to garden or collect stamps. When I’m not taking photos and making art, I like to watch movies and write about them. It brings me a lot of joy when I get an email from someone telling me they’ve watched a film I’ve written about and they appreciate my recommendations. 20 years ago it would have been impossible for me to freely self-publish my thoughts about films and share them with other film enthusiasts all over the world so easily and I’m thankful for the opportunities that blogging has given me. I’ve been writing on and off for 25 years and blogging has been the most rewarding writing experience I’ve had.

I’m also thankful that my fellow film bloggers have been so gracious and encouraging. I’m especially thankful to Dennis Cozzalio who runs the terrific and always entertaining Sergio Leone and the Infield Fly Rule, Brian Darr and his resourceful and informative Hell on Frisco Bay blog and Girish Shambu whose blog has probably given me more delicious food for thought in the past couple of years than any other film blog that I can think of. Dennis, Brian and Girish were some of the first people who took the time to comment on my blog and exchange links back in 2006. Their generosity of spirit and good nature have really helped motivate me to keep blogging and I can’t thank them enough for their support. Here’s to you boys and to another fun and fascinating year of film blogging!

24 thoughts on “Behind the Blog

  1. Peter Nellhaus says:

    The photo caption should read, “The Girl in White Boots”. Anyways, I look forwards to future postings and exchanges of thoughts on film, music, etc.

  2. Keith says:

    Hey Kimberly. I adore your blog. It’s one of my favorite blogs out there. You do such a fantastic job with it. I’ve learned so much about films I’ve seen and many I haven’t. Blogging is quite fun. I never thought I would enjoy it like I have. Things seem to be crappy for many of us. I’m making less hours and less money than I once was, but there’s nothing much else out there. I don’t have much faith in either of the political parties to pick things up. Good luck with everything. Congrats on the 2 year anniversary of the blog. Keep up the good work.

  3. Jonathan Lapper says:

    That was a great interview. I can’t believe you don’t consider yourself among the prominent bloggers because trust me, you are. I haven’t quite made it to my first year anniversary yet but by the time I get to two years I can only hope I still have the drive and freshness that you have. And we’d all love to be paid for doing something we love to do but the internet just isn’t designed that way (unless you have millions of visitors and get premium ads but that ain’t never happening with us movie bloggers unless we go the Cinematical route and start reporting Hollywood news and gossip on a daily basis and who in god’s name would want to do that voluntarily?).

    I just wrote over at Dennis’ about my two favorite genres being sci-fi and horror and yet not liking very many beyond the seventies (although there are certainly ones in the eighties and beyond I do like) and that’s one of the reasons I visit here as a regular stop in my blog rounds. I remember when I started surfing the blogs last year (it only took me a couple of weeks of surfing them before deciding, “Hey I want to do this too!”) I began looking for blogs that matched my likes and dislikes. After my first month of blogging I had found Sergio Leone, Scanners and Sunset Gun and that’s about it. Then you commented on “The Luck of Ginger Coffey” on my blog after you and I had exchanged comments on Dennis’ blog about the “100 Greatest Films Ever” list that had come out and caused such an uproar (I have a great memory for how I met people, like Sandy Dennis in The Four Seasons). After that I knew I had found the sci-fi/horror blog I’d been looking for. And as an added bonus you had a love for sixties British cinema as well as Japanese and Italian horror of which I knew little but was eager to learn. I know I would have discovered you within a day of that anyway due to the conversation on Dennis’ blog but still, I am forever grateful for your first visit to my blog.

    I don’t ever want Cinebeats to go away. I look forward to (hopefully) years of commenting and posting from you. And in twenty years when all the new big bloggers on the block are talking about the classics of the nineties and tens, I’ll still have a place I can go to read about the cinema I care about. And for that I thank you.

  4. Jeremy says:

    Lovely heartfelt post Kimberly and great interview…thanks so much for mentioning Moon In The Gutter over there. I really appreciate your continuing support! Keep up the always astonishing work.

  5. cinebeats says:

    Peter – Ha! So true. 😉 Thanks for the feedback. It’s much appreciated and I look forward to your future posts as well.

    Orlando – Thanks! I’m not exactly sure that I understand your question but if you’re wondering if I write all the content at Cienbeats.com, indeed I do.

    Keith – Many thanks and I’m glad you enjoy Cinebeats. It is tough all over for everyone at the moment. There’s just no escaping the fact that the economy is in really poor shape and work of all sorts is hard to come by. I hope things improve for you as well!

    Jonathan – I really appreciate your thoughtful response! I still don’t consider myself a “prominent blogger” even though I appreciate your support. 😉 With so many paid pros blogging like Jim Emerson, Kim Morgan, etc. I usually feel like a small fish in a big pond. I’m not really sure why there’s been so much navel-gazing going on in the film blog world. Can you imagine if all the comic book bloggers, gardening bloggers, sports bloggers and cooking bloggers were as self absorbed as a lot of film bloggers seem to be? I just don’t get it. The minute blogging stops being fun for me I’ll stop blogging but like anything in life, it’s usually what you make of it – the good and the bad. I will add though that if I read one more ridiculous self-serving rant like this one from some guy trying to be the gate-keeper of online film criticism I’m going to storm the damn fort with my army of one! I swear that the piece I’ve been writing about “classism” among film critics is boiling over at this point.

    Jeremy – Thanks so much Jeremy! I really enjoy your blog (or “blogs”) and I was happy to include it. I’m kicking myself now for forgetting some favorites but it’s hard to keep track of all the blogs I enjoy reading and new ones are popping up everyday. Thanks again! I always enjoy hearing from you and chatting about our favorite films.

  6. girish says:

    Thanks, Kimberly, for your too-kind mention. And an even bigger thanks for posting that truly awesome picture. (Let me put in a request for you to break out your old photo albums here on this blog, even if you only do it in trickles.)

    I also want to say that there are many blogs whose content I read regularly on my RSS reader, but yours isn’t among them. I need to actually and physically come to your site each time you post. The design and writing, the fastidious care with which you choose and present the images, and the overall style and elegance of this site–there’s no way to experience it in a second-hand fashion through an RSS reader feed. There’s no substitute for actually visiting your site.

    You do wonderful work–please don’t even think of stopping.

    Kimberly, I want to wish you good and healthy economic prospects for all your future writing and design freelance work.

  7. Jonathan Lapper says:

    I just read that article you linked to on Pop Matters. That’s one of the most unintentionally hilarious things I’ve ever read. I had no idea there was a formula I was supposed to be following. And stupid me, I’ve gone and specialized myself with old movies. God! I’m such an idiot!

  8. Vanwall says:

    Well done, Kimberly, well done! Please don’t underestimate yourself – this is one of my favorite blogs, just because you have such eclectic tates, and obviously many others agree. I’m with Girish – the visuals here are often stunning and never less than fascinating – keep up the outstanding work. I visit here to be enlightened in an intelligently written and amusing fashion, often reading about things here I had no idea existed, and there aren’t many like your blog in this world, so you have my often awe-struck admiration, as I can only seem to do it in fits & starts. Keep your chin up, kid, something good has got to be right around the next bend.

  9. Driveindude says:

    Hi Kimberly,

    I myself have never claim to be as smooth and stylish with the written word as is my friend Dennis Cozzalio or his compatriots. However, I do enjoy good writing. Your articles are written with such fondness and joy that it’s just impossible not get all warm and fuzzy inside.

  10. scott says:

    as someone who has started a blog and after 2 posts it has died on its arse, let me say thank you for continuing to have a great blog, I’ve not been reading for a long time, but anyone who has annie nightinggale and aerobic hating zombies, you’ve gotta like that :-)))

    keep up the brilliant work and don’t let the shit get you down, scott

  11. scott says:

    one more thing… you look smooooooooooookin :-)))) obviously in your more recent pic, not the one at the top of this page, just to clear things up 🙂

  12. Anna says:

    Kimberly – you & I write about completely different sorts of films – which is why I have always valued your blog. I do not always comment because of my ignorance about the sorts of films you blog about – but I always leave your blog having learned something.

    If you in no way get paid for all of this – you have my admiration. So many of us, I suspect, grapple occasionally with the – “why do I spend so much time blogging?” question “when I maybe ‘should’ be doing something else?”

    Yeah well – so much for “should!”

    You have a great blog.

  13. cinebeats says:

    Thanks for all the nice comments guys and gals! I truly appreciate them.

    Girish – I will see what photos I can find that might be worth sharing. At Myspace I have a small photo album there with a few pictures of myself but I’m not dressed as well as I am in the photo above.

    Thanks again everyone!! 🙂

  14. Robert Monell says:

    Kimberly: I appreciate your mention of my blog, the success of which you’ve had a lot to do with in terms of inspiration and the wonderful design you created. You make so many points I agree with. I find more compelling writing here and on a number of blogs than in most highly paid, mainstream print film critics.

    And don’t worry about how MUCH you blog, it’s not quantity that counts, it’s the quality. And your blog is high quality.

  15. Dennis Cozzalio says:

    Kimberly: Please forgive me for being so late to this well-deserved party. There is no excuse good enough for not yet taking the time to let you know how I feel about you and Cinebeats. But then, if you don’t already know, then I have not been expressing myself very well.

    You needn’t worry about the size of the pond or whether you belong in it– I can’t imagine anyone whose opinion I’d give a damn about who wouldn’t be able to see the value of your work here for those of us who care about movies (and not just the ones deemed of interest by the Ain’t-It-Cool contingent.)

    I am forever in your debt for opening my eyes not only to some wonderful movies that I might have missed (do Four Times That Night ring a bell?) and movies worth discussing that I haven’t yet found the personal courage to see (like Who Could Kill a Child?), but also for just your personal conviction and the the generosity which exudes from this blog like the warm radiation from a deep red crimson sun (hadda get that Argento reference in there somehow!)

    The interview was great, by the way, and thank you very much for your kind props. When I think back on all the good friends I’ve made during this adventure in blogging, it seems impossible now to imagine that but for the click of a mouse it could have all turned out differently and the group of fine writers around whom I orbit daily might not have gathered together the way they have. I’m very grateful indeed to be able to count myself a colleague of yours. I look forward to better, happier times for us all, and for many more years of excellent, informed and impassioned writing.

    Cheers, my friend!

    Dennis

  16. Tom Sutpen says:

    Let me first apologize for the intrusion, but I couldn’t resist barging in to say that the interview was superb. You know, I have no doubt that many of the foregathered still believe that I asked you to sign on with . . . that blog I run . . . simply to add a respectable face to an otherwise contemptible enterprise, but I did so expecting your contributions to be generally magnificent. Rarely have I ever enjoyed seeing my expectations exceeded so much. My hat is definitively off to you.

  17. Marilyn says:

    Kimberly – I am just one of your many loyal fans. When I read this post, I was afraid that you were announcing your retirement from the blogosphere. Apparently, that’s not so–thank goodness!!!! I’ve learned so much from you and enjoy your writing and film suggestions so much.

    Judging from your go-go boots, you look like someone who would grow up to be a 60s-70s afficionado. I personally thank whoever bought them for you for steering you toward your passion.

    BTW, e-mail me your resume. I might be able to offer you some freelance writing work. Seriously.

  18. cinebeats says:

    I can’t thank you all enough for the nice comments. Obviously I have some of the best readers and you all rock!

    Arbo – Where were you when I was a kid? All the boys thought I was too weird to date!

    Robert – Your advice is much appreciated and needed now since I’m feeling rather neglectful of the blog lately.

    Dennis – Being able to exchange comments, emails and xmas cards with you has been a real pleasure and I’m very lucky that you took the time to encourage my blogging early on. Cheers to you sir!

    Tom – It’s been my honor to contribute to the CHarlie Parker blog since it brings me a lot of joy! Of course lately I’ve been contributing very little but hopefully you’ll see me there again soon.

    Christine- Thanks! It’s tough all over for all kinds of working people right now but hopefully things will start looking up soon.

    Marilyn – You’re to kind! My parents totally helped influence my interests in movies and music, etc. As a teen I was sort of “old-fashioned” since I liked to listen to lots of ’60s and ’70s rock along with Duran Duran. 😉 As for the resume, I’ll try to send you a copy later this week once things settle down a bit.

    Thanks again everyone!!

  19. Glenn Hallett says:

    Truly great blog! Ah retro-cinema-glamor! Best of luck in your workaday world; when we have to struggle, we can’t reach the top of Maslow’s tier & it hurts our Muse! The world is enriched by art & artists of all genres.

Comments are closed.