Experience Rod Serling for Free!

I’m currently busy writing about some of my favorite Post-1966 Elizabeth Taylor films, but I wanted to share some fantastic news I stumbled across while I was roaming around online.

Two of my favorite television shows from the ‘60s and ‘70s are Rod Serling’s The Twilight Zone (1959-64) and Night Gallery (1970-73). CBS and NBC recently launched two new sub-sites called CBS Classics and NBC’s Way Back Wednesdays where you can view episodes of these classic horror/science fiction shows free online at anytime. CBS has made many episodes of The Twilight Zone available, as well as episodes of the original Star Trek (1966-69) and Hawaii Five-O (1968-80) and every Wednesday NBC is making an episode of Rod Serling’s Night Gallery available, along with episodes of other popular shows such as The Alfred Hitchcock Hour (1962-65), the original Battlestar Galactica (1978-79) and Emergency (1972-79).

If you’re somehow unfamiliar with Rod Serling’s The Twilight Zone and Night Gallery this is a great opportunity to see episodes of these classic television programs. Both shows featured gifted actors often giving some of their best performances and they were written and directed by some of television’s greatest talents, including Rod Serling himself. Many episodes of The Twilight Zone and Night Gallery still give me the creeps and they’re guaranteed to give new viewers a nightmare or two. If you’re already familiar with these critically acclaimed shows you can now become reacquainted with them free of charge. For more information please check out the links I’ve posted below:

The Twilight Zone at CBS – TV Classics
Rod Serling’s Night Gallery at NBC’s Way Back Wednesdays
The Rod Serling Memorial Foundation – Official Site

8 thoughts on “Experience Rod Serling for Free!

  1. Jonathan Lapper says:

    I’ve seen every episode of The Twilight Zone – every one, even the lost color one with Robert Duvall. I loooooovvvvveeeee that show. I always catch several each year during the Labor and Memorial Day Marathons on Sci Fi but now I can watch them anytime I want.

    And the original Star Trek too? It’s too much for words to express.

  2. Mcubed says:

    Thank you for posting this information! I’m always looking for ways to get free, legal films and television from the net.

  3. Keith says:

    This is awesome. I love the Twilight Zone. Never really seen much of Night Gallery. I really love shows like Star Trek. This sounds like a fantastic way to watch some classic shows. Thanks for posting about this.

  4. Vanwall says:

    The peak of creative television, along with “Outer Limits”. It was like a new reality every week, and it was like a drug to hear the classic theme song start up, a siren’s call for me, what a bummer when TZ’s run stopped – but what a thrill when “Night Gallery” started! Well worth watching over and over again, which I have done many times.

  5. Joe P. says:

    do you know how it is that CBS has the NBC series “Star Trek”? did they buy them?

    and thanks for the heads up on these links. Serling is an astonishing writer/producer.

  6. cinebeats says:

    Glad you all enjoyed the links! I really hope CBS and NBC start sharing more episodes of old shows online.

    Joe – I’m afraid I have no idea why CBS has the rights to Star Trek now. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable about the show will be able to answer your question.

  7. adrien says:

    Hopefully this mean I get a chance to see Night Gallery episodes from seasons 2-3, since they don’t appear to be coming out on DVD anytime soon.

  8. Cairo says:

    Hey, thanks for the links…I LOVE the Twilight Zone! I don’t think I’ve ever seen Night Gallery, so I’ll definitely check it out. :o)

Comments are closed.