Amitabh is my God

The great actor Amitabh Bachchan (the “Big B”) starred in many of the best Bollywood films produced in India during the ’70s and he has millions of devoted fans all over the world. There is probably no actor more loved and respected in India and since I love Amitabh too, I couldn’t resist sharing this bit of news from MSN Entertainment.

Recently one of Amitabh Bachchan’s fans by the name of Jitendra Shivhare penned a Sanskrit poem on a 101-metre-long scroll of paper as an “invocation to the Bollywood actor whom he treats as a god.”

“Amitabh is my God
and I am his priest.

Whenever I land in any trouble,
I always remember him to get out of it.”

excerpt from the poem by Jitendra Shivhare

Jitendra Shivhare titled his creation Bachchan Mahakavya and he is currently pursuing a BA in Sanskrit from Devi Ahilyabai Vishwa Vidyalaya University in India.

All hail the great Big B! Sign me up for the church of Amitabh. That’s a religion I could get behind.


A scene from one of my favorite Amitabh Bachchan film’s Don (1978)

6 thoughts on “Amitabh is my God

  1. Keith says:

    I’ve been getting more and more into Bollywood movies. Big B is awesome. My sister works with a couple of Indian pharmacists. They love Big B.

  2. The Evil Twin says:

    Hey – isn’t he the male lead from Khuda Gawah (God is my Witness) playing alongside the luscious Sri Devi? He most certainly is The Shit, I must say. He’s got onscreen charisma to spare – I can see why he’s so popular.

  3. cinebeats says:

    My favorite Big B movie is Don (I just added the trailer to my post), but he made a lot of terrific movies in the ’70s and ’80s. I’m afraid that I haven’t kept up with his more recent films.

    He did star in the original Khuda Gawah (I believe there was a recent remake of the film without him, but I’m not positive about that).

  4. Paul C. says:

    Big B is so awesome, and like you, Don is my favorite of his (“shoes, baby!”).

    I haven’t seen many of his recent movies, but I’ve seen enough to know that he’s still a good lookin’ guy, who hasn’t lost a smidgen of his charisma. How many sixtysomething contemporary Hollywood stars can we say that about?

  5. cinebeats says:

    Thanks for the comment Paul! It’s nice to now that someone else likes DON as much as I do. 😉

    He is a nice looking guy! I only wish he would stop dying his hair so it would match his facial hair.

Comments are closed.