R.I.P. Vampira

vampiria2

From the trustworthy Arbogast and various other online sources comes the sad news that the iconic horror hostess and actress Vampira (aka Maila Nurmi) has passed away at the age of 86. If you’ve read my blog long enough, you’re probably aware that I have a deep affection for horror hosts and I greatly admired the lovely Vampira. She was the original bad girl of late night TV and paved the way for many other men and women to follow in her footsteps. Even though I’ve never been a horror hostess myself, I’ve definitely been inspired by women like Vampira and her followers such as Elvira (aka Cassandra Peterson) over the years.

Maila Nurmi was a beautiful woman and she lived a long and fascinating life. If you’d like to learn more about her I recommend the following links:

Vampira’s Attic (Maila Nurmi’s official site)
Vampira’s Official YouTube Channel
Maila Nurmi at Wikipedia
Vampira at IMDb.com

3 thoughts on “R.I.P. Vampira

  1. Keith says:

    This is truly sad news to see when I checked out your blog this morning. I’ve always admired her and been a big fan. We’ll miss you, Vampira. R.I.P.

  2. cinebeats says:

    It was sad news, but hopefully we can all live to the ripe old age of 86. Greencine Daily was nice enough to link to this post and they’ve also listed a bunch of great articles about Vampira in their blog which you can find here.

Comments are closed.