Ringing in the Holidays

Holiday plans and various other commitments have been interfering with my writing and movie watching lately. Hopefully I’ll have some new things posted later this week, but in the meantime I wanted to mention that today is a Bloggers Unite event that I’m taking part in.

So what is Bloggers Unite? From the website: “It’s an initiative designed to harness the power of the blogosphere to make the world a better place. It tries to challenge bloggers to blog about a particular social cause on a single day so a single voice can be joined with thousands of others to help make some kind of positive difference in the world. Today’s theme is Acts of Kindness and it aims at putting a human face on bloggers responsible for so much good in the world. The goal is to expose their kindness and generosity as well as serve as an example to non-bloggers that volunteering for a charity, donating to a cause, or simply doing something kind for another person has a ripple effect around the world.”

Since the season of sharing is upon us, I wanted to mention that I plan on giving to a charity I try to give a little something to every year and that is Toys for Tots. I collect toys as an adult, but I know what it’s like to have to go without on Christmas, and I hope by giving to Toys for Tots every year that one less kid will be without a toy to play with on Christmas day.

Around this time of year, I also try and give to some other causes that I personally think are worthwhile. A few other organizations I try to support whenever I’m able include the independent news organization Democracy Now, the National Trust for Historic Preservation and my local PBS stations. I may only send them $5 or $10 every year, but I know my dollars are going toward good causes that are important to me. If there are any charities you like to give to during the holidays, please feel free to share them in the comments below!

I’ll give the last word on “Acts of Kindness” and peace on earth to my favorite Beatle, John Lennon:


Official “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)” video from the Imagine Peace website

9 thoughts on “Ringing in the Holidays

  1. Keith says:

    Hey Kimberly. I think giving to charity is something important any time of the year. It seems especially worthwhile and special at the holiday season. Besides putting money into the Salvation Army bucket, I do donate clothing, etc. to them and some shelters in the area. As someone who was raised Christian and is not studying Judaism, I’ve been donating money to the International Fellowship of
    Christians and Jews to help those poor and disadvantaged Jews in places like the former Soviet Union, Africa, etc.

  2. steve Langton says:

    Great post, Kimberly. My wife and I have already donated some money towards sick children in hospital. My baby sister died a few weeks before Xmas many years ago and my little brother passed away a few years before that. The plight of sick children has always moved me. Look forward to your upcoming posts.

  3. Jonathan Lapper says:

    Just when you think life is hard, and I do with financial and family problems that make me question everything at times, you realize there are others who make you feel like you don’t have a problem in the world. Or you hear about losses like Steve’s which are heartbreaking. I’m so sorry Steve that you’ve had two such terrible losses.

    One thing my family and I have always done is to never throw anything useful away. If we don’t need the plates, clothes, furniture or what have you, we donate them rather than toss them. I’ve gotten many things from thrift stores and charities when times were tough and I was on the verge of losing a roof over my head. Others have no roof which is why I help make sandwiches at work for Martha’s Table, a local DC charity that helps the poor and disadvantaged in the area with food, healthcare, housing and recreation, and donate supplies and clothing as well. They also accept cash donations as well. Helping the homeless anywhere is important but in regions of the country (like here) where winter brings ice, snow and temps in the teens it’s also critical to helping them make it through winter alive.

    Thanks for the post Kimberly.

  4. Marilyn says:

    I’m sorry I missed the actual Blog Action Day, but that doesn’t mean I don’t support its objectives and do my part. I contribute monthly to Doctors Without Borders, a great organization that goes where even the Red Cross can’t. I am a member of Amnesty International and spend money and time working for their causes. Locally, my favorite charities are The Greater Chicago Food Depository, probably the best organization I know for feeding the hungry, and The Garfield Park Conservatory, a 100ish-year-old botanic garden in a poorer and underserved area of Chicago. The hubby is a member and I contribute to Bats Conservation International.

    These are ongoing contributions. The right ask at the right time can get more money out of me. I’m such a sucker for good causes.

  5. cinebeats says:

    Thanks so much for sharing the organizations you all like to give to! My hope is that it might give some other people ideas and encourage them to contribute to a cause or charity that they think is worthwhile.

  6. Jeremy says:

    Great post…as someone who loves animals I always try to support the Humane Society. They are a great organization and do a nearly impossible and hard job.

    On a more personal level, I always try to help someone out who asks for it. I get really fed up with people who ignore the homeless like they don’t exist, and are just asking for some loose change or a dollar. If I have it, I will give it in the hopes that it might make some tiny difference to them in their lives.

    I also support the local PBS stations who give so much back to their communities…I hardly do anything though and really need to start being more active.

  7. cinebeats says:

    Thanks guys! I’m glad you shared some of the charities you like to give to Jeremy and Steve, it sounds like you already give a lot so you should be proud of yourself and your contributions.

Comments are closed.