Meet & Greet


Above: Me and some of my movie posters from –
Girl Boss Blues: Queen Bee’s Counterattack (Norifumi Suzuki; 1971)
Stray Cat Rock: Machine Animal (Yasuharu Hasebe; 1970).

The nice folks at Detour Magazine thought I was worthy of an interview and photo in their fine publication. If you’re interested in learning a little bit more about me, you can find my interview HERE.

I’m actually notoriously camera shy and I like my writing to speak for me, but I hope my blog readers might find the interview interesting.

And last but not least, many thanks to my blog readers who take the time to comment and give me feedback on my posts, as well as those of you who just enjoy reading my rambling posts about the movies I like and the people who make them. Happy Thanksgiving!

22 thoughts on “Meet & Greet

  1. cinebeats says:

    Thanks much Jonathan! I wish I had worn something else besides a rather shapeless black turtle neck sweater for my photo, but what cha gonna do? It’s cold at the moment!

    Enjoy the holiday!!

  2. robertmonell says:

    You look like a certain movie star! Love your writing and your posters. Japanese genre cinema from the 60s and 70s is also one of my obsessions. Keep up the terrific work and Happy Thanksgiving
    Best Regards,
    Robert

  3. cinebeats says:

    Thanks for the nice comments Robert & Peter! I think I’m feeling super self conscious due to having glamorous photos of the gorgeous Ingrid Pitt right under me.

    I hope you’re both enjoying the holiday!

  4. Jeremy says:

    Great interview Kimberly (and great pic)…thanks so much for the generous shout out in it. I really appreciate and will thank you on Moon In The Gutter as well…thanks again…

  5. Neil says:

    Allow me to chime in with my praise for both the picture and the interview… and defend the turtleneck, if for no other reason than if I were getting a picture taken, I’d’ve probably worn one, too… Ok, that doesn’t really define it as a Glamour Do… Hrrmz…

    It does look sharp, though, and contrasts nicely against your colorful posters, too!

  6. cinebeats says:

    Thanks a lot Jeremy & Neil! I appreciate your comments. I had a hard time answering questions like “favorite websites, ” “favorite movies” and “favorite records.” I left off a lot of stuff I wish I had remembered to mention. I think I was supposed to give one words answers and I managed to go on forever. As my blog makes clear – I can be really long-winded at times!

  7. Michael says:

    Great photo, when I saw it I thought it was a focus on an ex-pinky actress ! You have this badass-glamour look !

    And good interview, maybe too short, at least I hope it has brought you new readers !

    😉

  8. Keith says:

    Nice interview with you. It was great learning more about some of your interests. It’s been great getting to know you through your blog and over at MySpace. Whether I’ve seen or even heard of a particular film or not, I do learn a lot from your blog. Also that’s a great pic of you. Take care. Enjoy your vacation.

  9. Helena says:

    What a great surprise to find your site! I have been a fan of cult 60’s and 70’s film for quite some time. You mention films that I thought that I have only heard of!? It is nice to know that there is an outlit out there for like minded people like us. Thanks for your site!!!

  10. Stacie says:

    Awesome!!

    As if you weren’t already awesome enough, you get 50 points for mentioning Pizzicato Five. I LOVE them and miss them. I got to see them on their 5-date mini-tour years and years ago, and it was one of the craziest, most fun concerts I’ve been to. Maki Nomiya is just about the epitome of cool, in my opinion.

  11. cinebeats says:

    Thanks for the nice words ladies!

    It’s so cool that got to see P5, Stacie. I’m sure it was a terrific show. I like a lot of Japanese music (old pop, Shibuya-Kei and Visual-Kei) and P5 is a favorite.

  12. Vincent says:

    Well, i must say you are charming. You have the expression of some giallo’s movie actresses. And you live in the city of “Vertigo”. Total respect 🙂
    I read your interview with a great interest, i’m always impressed with your vast knowledge of european cinema. It’s always a nice moment to visit your blog.

    See you

  13. cinebeats says:

    Thanks so much Vincent! I’m glad you enjoyed the interview. I live on the outskirts of “Vertigo” city only because I can’t afford to live in the heart of it just yet, but hopefully I will someday! It’s the most beautiful city in America (in my opinion anyway).

Comments are closed.