Happy 70th Birthday to Ingrid Pitt!

My favorite Hammer bad girl turns 70 today and I want to wish her a very happy birthday!

The lovely Ingrid Pitt started acting in horror films in 1964 and she first appeared in the entertaining, but flawed Sound of Horror (aka El Sonido prehistórico) directed by José Antonio Nieves Conde with another horror legend, the beautiful Soledad Miranda. After small roles in films like Orson Welles’ Chimes at Midnight (1965) and David Lean’s Doctor Zhivago (1965), she got her big break in the popular WW2 film Where Eagles Dare (1968) where she got to work alongside Richard Burton and Clint Eastwood.

Ingrid would go on to appear in many great British horror films throughout the seventies including The Vampire Lovers (1970), The House That Dripped Blood (1971), The Wicker Man (1973) and my personal favorite Ingrid Pitt film, the fabulous Countess Dracula (1971). Ingrid really gets to shine as the deadly Countess Elisabeth Nodosheen (Elizabeth Bathory) in Countess Dracula, which happens to be one of Hammer’s best and most unappreciated films. She also had roles in popular television shows such as Jason King, which I wrote about earlier this year.

Unlike many screen beauties who fade away and disappear into obscurity, the lovely Ingrid Pitt continues to appear in films and she has no less then three horror movies coming out soon, including the first Hammer film in decades called Beyond the Rave. She seems immensely proud of her work in British horror films and she is in the process of starting her own film production company called Hammer Glammer Films along with her fellow Hammer horror starlets, the lovely Caroline Munro, Veronica Carlson and Steffanie Pitt. You go girls!

Ingrid often appeared as a bold and smart woman in her films, who was always in control and ready for just about anything. I only wish she had made more movies during the sixties and seventies. In her real life she is also a bold and outspoken lady and she isn’t afraid to share her thoughts about current events on her website. I’ve admired Ingrid for many years as an accomplished actress and a published author, and I hope she’ll continue to do interesting work for a long time to come. Happy birthday Ingrid!

Recommended Filmography:
The Wicker Man (1973; Robin Hardy)
The House That Dripped Blood (1971; Peter Duffell)
Countess Dracula (1971; Peter Sasdy)
The Vampire Lovers (1970; Roy Ward Baker)
Where Eagles Dare (1968; Brian G. Hutton)
Sound of Horror (1964; José Antonio Nieves Conde)

Recommended Links:
Pitt of Horror (Ingrid’s Offical Site)
Hammer Glammer Films (Offical site for Ingrid’s film company)
The Ingrid Pitt Column (Ingrid’s own regular blog column at the Den of Geek)
The World of Hammer Glamour (Holger’s terrific fansite dedicated to the beautiful women of Hammer Horror films)

17 thoughts on “Happy 70th Birthday to Ingrid Pitt!

  1. Jonathan Lapper says:

    First and foremost, a happy birthday to Ingrid. Any Hammer star is okay in my book. And secondly, Beyond the Rave – what a title! I love it. But who will play Peter Cushing’s role?

  2. Dennis Cozzalio says:

    Oh, dear, just look at those lovely images you posted of Ms. Pitt and it’s not hard to understand why I was always so ensnared by her as a young horror fan. I think The Vampire Lovers is just as underrated, actually, but you’re right– Countess Dracula is near unknown except to hardcore Hammer fans, and it really does deserve a much better fate. Thanks, Kimberly, for this superb post recognizing a true horror icon. And word of a NEW Hammer film starring someone so closely tied to the success of their greatest period is almost too good to be true. And Happy Thanksgiving too!

  3. Arbogast says:

    I like Pitt in the roundly-reviled WHO DARES WINS (1982), with Judy Davis starring as an American terrorist abroad and Richard Widmark one of the imperiled Yanks. Pitt’s character is a nasty piece of work who… well, you should really see it for yourself.

  4. Keith says:

    Happy Birthday to Ingrid Pitt. I wish her all the best. She’s one of my favorites from the world of horror. She, along with Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee, made Hammer the studio it became. I especially loved her in Vampire Lovers and Countess Dracula. Both were amazing films.

  5. Stacie says:

    Great post, Kimberly, and Happy Birthday to Ingrid Pitt! She’s still absolutely lovely, and as Dennis said…

    “And word of a NEW Hammer film starring someone so closely tied to the success of their greatest period is almost too good to be true.”

    And thanks for all those links…I’ve got some reading to do.

  6. cinebeats says:

    I’m happy I could share a little Ingrid eye-candy with ya all! The Hammer girls are all really fabulous and deserve plenty of praise.

    Jonathan – The title of the new Hammer film kind of scares me. It conjures up memories of a horrible rave-filled horror movie I recently watched called Catacombs (2007). Hopefully Beyond the Rave will be better then that mess of movie.

    Dennis – Thanks for the holiday wishes! I hope you have a terrific Thanksgiving as well. I think Vampire Lovers might be better known only because it’s part of Hammer’s wonderful Karnstein trilogy. Speaking of the Karnstein Trilogy… I really wish all three films in the trilogy would get packaged as a DVD box set which I for one would buy right away. It’s a shame that the last film in the trilogy (the fabulous Twins of Evil) has never gotten a DVD release in the states. It’s one of Hammer’s best vampire films in my opinion but it also seems really unappreciated.

    Arbogast – I have not seen Who Dares Win, but you’ve got me curious about it. The one Ingrid Pitt film that I really want to see is The Omegans, but it seems hard to get a hold of.

    Keith – I agree that Ingrid was one of Hammer’s best assists. It’s a shame that they didn’t put her in more movies.

    Stacie – I hope you’ll enjoy all the links I posted! Ingrid’s site is really terrific and she updates it herself and even keeps a page on Myspace. She’s terrific and at 70, she’s a total inspiration!

  7. steve Langton says:

    Hope Ingrid had a nice day. She does some television here in the UK, but seems to spend more time at film fairs and conventions which gives her fans the chance to meet her and have their picture taken with her.
    Happy Thanksgiving day to everyone.

  8. Greg B. says:

    “Countess Dracula” and “The Vampire Lovers” are two of the most erotic and atmospheric movies I’ve ever seen. No small thanks to the sultry Ms. Pitt. Happy Birthday!

  9. HSB says:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhh the memory I have of meeting her at the tender age of 9 at the 2nd annual Famous Monster of Filmland Convention in NYC…

    I had stood on line for nearly an hour to get her autograph and the closer I got to her, the more I trembled — she was SO beautiful! When I finally had my chance to meet her, I made my play — I asked her if she would sign the picture I brought of her (an astonishing still of her in a see-through black nightgown) and if she would do me one extra special favor — I asked if she would kiss the picture and adhere her lip-prints! AND SHE DID! (I told her that Peter Cushing had kissed my mom’s hand, so it would only be fair if she kissed my picture!) She roared with the most delicate laughter I had ever heard and scooped me in her arms for the most wonderful hug I ever had…. A lovely lady. Well deserving of the tribute! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, INGRID!!! (belated)

  10. Vanwall says:

    Happy birthday Ms. Pitt – the gunner girls were the best part about “Where Eagles Dare”. 😉 Speaking of the Karnstein Trilogy, it’s interesting how they release lots of stuff around “Twins of Evil”, even “Captain Kronos – Vampire Hunter” which tho fun, is only marginally related to the Karntsein films, but don’t seem to get the boxed-set idea. How obtuse are these guys, anyway?

  11. robx69 says:

    I Googled “Ingrid Pitt” earlier this afternoon and now have two new favourite websites.The Pitt Of Horror is amazing,what a woman!But i have to say Cinebeats is without doubt the best (and best looking) movie blog I’ve ever come across.Wow.I too have some reservations about Beyond The Rave after suffering through an ill advised double bill of Catacombs and Return Of The Living Dead 5:Rave To The Grave.Neither of those flicks had Ingrid Pitt in them though so hopefully it will be a case of third time lucky on the rave themed horror front.A missed opportunity in not having a be cloaked Christopher Lee mixing up a thunderstorm on the wheels of steel mind you.

  12. Ingrid Pitt says:

    MInd-blowing blog! It really is wonderful to have so many people wishing me good fortune as I enter the ranks of the septuagenarians. I’m only sorry I didn’t find this site earlier so that I could thank you all. It turned out to be a wonderful day with a n amazing turnout for the celebratory Fan Club dinner at the Lowizsanka Restaurant in Hammermith. Next one will be the 12th Reunion and Birthday Bash on 22nd November 2008 and I’m really looking forward to it.

    And I would be delighted if you logged on to my weekly blog on http://www.denofgeek.com. See you there?

  13. cinebeats says:

    You’re more then welcome Ingrid and many thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog and leave a comment! I can’t thank you enough. You’re one of my favorite actresses and I’m so grateful that you left a comment here. It means a lot to me since I’ve enjoyed your work for many years. I hope you have a fabulous birthday next November and I also hope people will stop by your own blog you at Den of Geek and check out your latest posts there. Take care!

    From your fan,
    Kimberly @ Cinebeats

  14. Roderick Verden says:

    Ingrid Pitt? I don’t believe. Beautiful hair; beuatiful eyes; beautiful lips; beautiful nose(Ingrid say her nose is ugly!); beautiful breast; beautiful legs: beautiful feet. Ingrid Pitt is all beautiful. Ingrid Pitt ia a good woman. Ingrid Pitt is a great actress. I love her.

  15. Andrew Silverman says:

    I teach Carmilla each year as a prelude to Dracula (and Christabel as a prelude to Carmilla!) and this year, I’m showing my students, for the first time, The Vampire Lovers, minus about 2 minutes or so of assorted bosoms I’m afraid. It is a wonderful film, especially as an archtype of the seventies horror genre, and Ms. Pitt is quite wonderful, as is the whole cast and film: so atmospheric! And for it’s time, so radical. I would like to see a modern remake of Carmilla, one cast with the vampire as the eternal seventeen year old that she is in the original story and that includes a bit more of Carmilla’s astounding dialog. Nevertheless, until such a film comes along, which may never happen, and is a successful rendition (how I recall being excited that Demi Moore was making The Scarlet Letter until it came out!)–Ms. Pitt will be the immortal and original Carmilla whose beauty will not fade. And a vampire whose been around for many lifetimes should have something of the air of a fully adult woman, no? Ingrid got that, perfectly, as well as her imperious air. Thanks for the memories. ATS

  16. #1FAN! says:

    oh my gosh it is so exciting to write to you i am so sorry i did not tell you happy birthday a long time ago but now since i am writing happy belated birthday!!!!!!!!! you are so beautiful now and when you were in the old horor movies! One ofmy favorite one you were in was Vampire Lovers because you were so pretty in the movie! But you always are!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wish i could meet you in person one day!!!!!!!!!! sometimes when i watch your movies i always rewind because you are so gorgeous!!! Heart, anabella

Comments are closed.