Good News for Soundtrack Enthusiasts

Cinedelic Records has released a terrific series of Book & CD packages this year called Musical and Visual Tributes, which include collections devoted to the films of Pier Paolo Pasolini and another devoted to the films of Mario Monicelli. On November 20th soundtrack enthusiasts can look forward to two new Musical and Visual Tributes from Cinedelic Records that focus one the films of Bernardo Bertolucci and Dario Argento.

Each of these new collections comes with a handsome 130 page hard-cover book covering the work of each director that contains rarely seen photos, reproductions of vintage poster art and publicity materials, as well as complete filmographies. Also included with each book is a terrific compilation CD with music from some of the director’s most celebrated films.

Bernardo Bertolucci: A Musical and Visual Tribute features the work of a lot of great composers such as Piero Piccioni, Ennio Morriocone, George Delerue, Augusto Martelli and Ryuichi Sakamoto. Musical selections from La Commare Secca (1962), Before the Revolution (1964), Partner (1968), The Conformist (1970), Last Tango in Paris (1972), 1900 (1976), Tragedy of a Ridiculous Man (1981), The Last Emperor (1987), Little Buddha (1993) and The Dreamers (2003) are all included on the accompanying CD.

Dario Argento: A Musical and Visual Tribute seems a bit more complete because Cinedelic Records was able to include an interview with Argento in the book that details his working relationship with composers he has collaborated with including Ennio Morricone, Claudio Simonetti and the band Goblin. The CD that accompanies the book features music selections from many of Argento’s films including The Bird With The Crystal Plumage (1970), The Cat O’ Nine Tails (1971), Four Flies On Grey Velvet (1971), Deep Red (1975), Suspiria (1977), Inferno (1980), Tenebrae (1982), Phenomena (1985), Opera (1987), Trauma (1993), Sleepless (2001) and The Card Player (2004), as well as a new tribute track performed by Signor Wolf.

For more information visit the official Cinedelic Records site.

Soundtrack enthusiasts should also keep an eye and ear out for the outstanding new DVD/CD package Maurice Jarre: A Tribute to David Lean, which I recently reviewed for Cinedelica. This new release features Jarre’s tribute concert for David Lean shot in 1992 and an interesting interview with the composer about his creative collaborations with the director.

For more information please see my recent review of Maurice Jarre: A Tribute to David Lean.

11 thoughts on “Good News for Soundtrack Enthusiasts

  1. Jonathan Lapper says:

    Scores from films are the hardest to come by in small doses on CD. Usually you have to buy the soundtrack for one particular film rather than a selection from different films by the same composer which I much prefer. Often film score soundtracks have quite a few reprises that render them redundant. My favorite soundtrack CD is one I bought about ten years ago of Bernard Herrmann. It had Kane, Vertigo, Psycho, The Bride Wore Black, Fahrenheit 451, Taxi Driver, North by Northwest and a few others. It’s great to hear the different scores together. Only my didn’t come with a nice, big book.

  2. Keith says:

    Sounds great. I’m really excited about the Argento one. I always loved the music used in his films. It will be neat to read more about the story behind the music.

  3. Joe D says:

    I had the great pleasure of working with Maestro Maurice Jarre about 10 years ago. He was a gentleman and the orchestra loved him, they applauded him after every cue. One of his lesser known scores I really love is Sundays and Cybele.

  4. cinebeats says:

    Jonathan – I really haven’t had the same problem since a lot of the European composers I like (Morriocne, Umiliani, Cipriani, Piccioni, Nicolai, Orlandi, Ferrio, etc.) have had their work released as part of really good compilation series put out by labels like Easy Tempo or Crippled Dick/Hot Wax over the years. With Hollywood/British composers like Herrmann or John Barry, Lalo Schifrin, Henry Mancini, etc. it can be a little harder to find good compilations for some reason, but they’re out there. I love a good comp, but I also like owning the whole soundtrack since you often come across some really terrific incidental music that’s easy to overlook otherwise. The book these CDs come with is pretty spectacular though!

    Peter – How about we first get all the Georges Franju and Jarre films released on DVD? I can’t tell you if I’d enjoy a CD comp since I haven’t seen most of the films they made together and it’s a crime that they’re not available.

    Keith – The Argento collection is really terrific and it’s probably the best of the bunch due to the extras.

    Joe – Thanks for sharing that wonderful antidote! I really like Jarre, as well as his son. They’ve both made incredible contributions to music.

  5. Jeremy says:

    Okay,
    I need both the Argento and Bava sets. Those look so amazing. I have most of the Argento music, but I only have a few of Bernardo’s soundtracks unfortunately.
    These are two of my favorite directors, and these look like must haves…thanks for the alert…

  6. Jeremy says:

    Sorry about that stupid typo on my last comment..it should have read “Argento and Bertolucci sets”…Bava has been on my mind a lot lately…

  7. Andrew Monroe says:

    Wonderful news, thanks for the tip! I`ll be having both of those no doubt. These book/cd sets are so cool. The Armando Trovajoli book and cd that Cinedelic released earlier this year was my most prized birthday gift. Beautifully illustrated with many locandinas, posters, single and album covers and a 17 track cd (a fair number of the tunes are unreleased) selected by the maestro himself.

    I`d be thrilled if Nora Orlandi was given this book and cd treatment, she`s one of my absolute favorite composers…so heartbreakingly mournful. Her spaghetti western scores in particular are amazing!

  8. Adrian Marcato says:

    There is a terrific CD of early Maurice Jarre scores called “MA PERIODE FRANCAISE” that has selections from three Franju films. (including ‘Les yeux sans visage’)

  9. Chris says:

    Of the great movies you’ve seen, how of many them were truly unforgettable? Like, you could replay moments from the screening in your head months or years later and feel just like you did when you watched it for the first time. I didn’t see many movies in a theater this year. The best I saw was Tarantino’s Death Proof. I left the theater feeling like I was floating. What’s disappointing is that I can’t recapture that floating feeling just by thinking about that night. The only part of the night I can recapture is the way I felt when I saw the close-up of Rosario Dawson’s face as she watched Zoe Bell riding on the hood of the speeding car.

    The supposedly great [and terrifying] No Country for Old Men is playing in Miami. I expect to enjoy it, but I’m not sure if I’ll be able to hold on to the experience long enough to justify paying $7 to see it.

    Your thoughts…

Comments are closed.