10 Questions with Tim Lucas

Over at Cinedelica we’re starting a new feature today called “10 Questions” and my first interviewee is film critic and author Tim Lucas.

I’ve been reading Tim’s film criticism since first coming across it in magazines like Fangoria and Gorezone in the ’80s when I was a teenager. There are few critics that have inspired and influenced my own writing more then Tim, so I was really happy to get the opportunity to ask him a few questions about his new book Mario Bava – All the Colors of the Dark. Tim’s enthusiastic support of Bava’s films over the years has definitely colored my own view of them, as well as my love for Italian genre films in general.

Some of the information in our brief exchange might be familiar to regular readers of his Bava Book Blog and anyone who owns the book, but if you’re curious about Mario Bava – All the Colors of the Dark and the films of Mario Bava in general, you might find my brief Q & A with Tim Lucas an interesting read.

10 Questions with Tim Lucas

7 thoughts on “10 Questions with Tim Lucas

  1. Brian says:

    Great interview! I am going to have to save my pennies for this one. Bava is one of my favorite directors, though I still haven’t seen a huge number of his films. My favorites so far are Kill, Baby…Kill!, Five Dolls For an August Moon, Planet of the Vampires, Danger: Diabolik and Black Sabbath.

  2. cinebeats says:

    Thanks Brian! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Bava’s made a lot of great movies and the ones you mentioned are all terrific. I think it’s wonderful that Tim has devoted so much time, energy and passion towards his amazing book project. I hope his enthusiasm for Bava and Italian genre films in general will continue to inspire others to discover new films, the work of lessor known directors, etc. Without coming across Tim’s reviews in the 80s, I probably would have not seen a lot of great horror films since he was often the only person writing about them.

  3. Jonathan Lapper says:

    Great job with the interview Kimberly! I commented over at Cindelica but figured I should leave a word here as well. Back before blogs took over the universe filmmakers like Bava got no attention whatsoever. When I was reading the interview and Lucas mentioned how Bava’s movies got the “Bomb” rating in the local tv guide I thought back to how those ratings always irritated me. I remember The Greatest Show of Earth getting four stars simply because it won Best Picture and the brilliant The Long Goodbye alternating between two and two and a half. I don’t think that would be as likely to happen now as so many movie sites and blogs continue to set the record straight. The book itself looks magnificent and considering how long he has worked on it it is clearly a labor of love.

  4. Keith says:

    Hey Kimberly. Great interview with Tim Lucas. I left some comments over there at Cinedelica. Mario Bava is one of my favorite filmmakers. He did make so many wonderful films, so it’s hard for me to pick just one as my favorite. I’ve been wanting to get the boxed sets of his films, plus I want to get that great new book. It looks beautiful and full of so much great info about Bava.

  5. Jeremy says:

    That is so great Kimberly that you got to interview Tim. I will leave some comments over there shortly.
    I am loving the Bava book but it is slow going for me right as school is so overwhelming this semester. I also have the English language version of Sylvia Kristel’s book coming so lots of reading this fall…damn classes!!!
    Anyway, congrats on the interview…

  6. cinebeats says:

    Thanks for all the great feedback guys! I’m glad you enjoyed the interview and learned a new thing or two about Tim. I learned things from our exchange myself and I had a great time doing it.

    Jonathan – It’s amazing how the web is changing film criticism isn’t it? Before the www horror fans like myself had to rely on magazines like Fangoria and various fanzines to get any info about films made by Italian directors like Argento, Bava, Fulci, etc. Their films were either totally ignored or treated as “lessor” works by the mainstream press as well as the film snobs who often think genre films are not worthy of serious critical review. Not to mention that the films were also impossible to find. The DVD and computer age has sure changed that! You used to also have pay ridiculous prices for crappy bootlegs or hundreds of dollars for Japanese import laser discs if you wanted to see them uncut.

    Keith – I hope you’re able to get the book soon!

    Jeremy – The Sylvia Kristol book sounds fascinating and I hope you’ll review it in your blog after you’ve finished it. I’ll look forward to that!

  7. Neil says:

    That is a wonderful and informative interview. I think blogs specifically, and the Internet generally even before that explosion, have done a great job of helping spread the word about these movies, but it remains important for people like Tim Lucas, whose writing and critical skills are impossible to deny when reading him, to be involved in challenging the notion that so many of these things are without value.

    And the fact that Bava made fake newsreel footage of Italian victories is the most amazing fact I’ve ever read. I seriously need to read this book.

Comments are closed.