All the News That’s Fit to Print


A semi-nude and tattooed Sean Connery in A Fine Madness (1966)

August Movie Review Roundup . . .

Last month my computer suffered a major meltdown and had to be replaced, which really slowed down my writing. I was only able to complete one review for Cinedelica last month and that was for Irvin Kershner’s dark comedy A Fine Madness (1966) which stars a rather young and super cute Sean Connery. I had mixed (mostly negative) reactions to the film, but if you’re curious about Kershner’s early work or just want to see Connery in his prime, A Fine Madness is well worth a look.

My review of A Fine Madness

Read All About It . . .

Adam Ross who runs the terrific DVD Panche blog was nice enough to ask me to be interviewed for his ongoing “Friday Screen Test” and I happily agreed. If you’d like to find out a little more about me you can find my answers to Adam’s questions at his blog.

My Friday Screen Test

Every Picture Tells a Story . . .

Before my computer suffered a meltdown I was able to send the guys who run the great If Charlie Parker was a Gunslinger, there’d be a whole lot of dead copycats blog a bunch of images that had been languishing on my computer for their “Contributor Week” which I believe is still going strong. If you’re interested in checking out my contributions as well as all other great submissions stop by the blog and give them a look.

If Charlie Parker was a Gunslinger, there’d be a whole lot of dead copycats

4 thoughts on “All the News That’s Fit to Print

  1. Keith says:

    Great review of “A Fine Madness.” I couldn’t agree more. It’s not one of my favorite films. I found it perplexing and stupid at times. It was interesting to see though one of Sean Connery’s other roles back in the 60’s. I’m glad I watched it, but I wouldn’t recommend it.

  2. cinebeats says:

    Thanks a bunch Keith! I’m glad you enjoyed the review. A Fine Madness is an odd film and really hard to evaluate. At least Connery provided me with some eye-candy, otherwise I probably would have never finished watching it. I liked the “Mondo Connery” feature that came with the DVD much more than the actual film.

  3. Jeremy says:

    Great review of “A Fine Madness” Kimberly. I agree it is a flawed film but I am always happy to see Jean Seberg getting mentioned anywhere anymore. She’s one of my favorites and even a film where she is underused is still worth revisiting in my eyes…thanks again for your great and informative pieces…and may I join in with ADA’s “Kowalski forever”…”Vanishing Point” is one of my favorite films…

Comments are closed.