June Movie Review Roundup

Another month has come and gone and that means it’s time for another edition of what I now offically call my Movie Review Roundup which collects links to all the films I reviewed for Cinedelica last month.

First on the list is director Shohei Imamura’s smart and disturbing Japanese crime film Vengeance Is Mine (1979) which was recently released on DVD by Criterion. I also reviewed the entertaining biker film Satan’s Sadists (1969) and the impressive British thriller The Third Secret (1964). Last on the list is The Nightcomers (1971) which features great performances from Marlon Brando and one of my favorite British ‘Scream Queens,’ Stephanie Beacham.

Quick links to my reviews:
Vengeance Is Mine (1979)
Satan’s Sadists (1969)
The Third Secret (1964)
The Nightcomers (1971)

As usual, you’ll find a lot more film reviews as well as book reviews, news about upcoming DVDs and film festivals, plus lots more at Cinedelica so please stop by and check out all the latest updates.

I’ve also recently started organizing Still Galleries at Flickr for some of the movies I watch and review. If you’d like to see more images from The Third Secret and Satan’s Sadists you can find them below:
The Third Secret Still Gallery
Satan’s Sadists Still Gallery

4 thoughts on “June Movie Review Roundup

  1. Peter Nellhaus says:

    I’ll add The Third Secret when I get room on my rental queue. Of Chrichton’s films, I’ve only seen A Fish called Wanda and Lavender Hill Mob. As for Stephen Boyd, I keep hoping The Oscar will get a DVD release.

    I saw The Nightcomers theatrically. What I remember best is Brando kissing a horse.

  2. Jeremy says:

    Interesting reviews Kimberly. I am curious to see the new ‘Nightcomers’ disc. I remember liking it more than your review but it has been a very long time since I have seen it. I’m curious as to what my thoughts will be on it now. Obviously I’m sure I will still love Marlon and Stephanie as much at least. Interesting you mentioned the soundtrack, I got a copy of it recently and was pretty disappointed also as I like much of his other work. I am looking forward to the Winner commentary, his track on ‘I’ll Never Forget What’s His Name’ is a favorite…thanks for your always insightful reviews Kimberly.

  3. cinebeats says:

    Anna – I decided to answer the 8 Things About me questions over at my Myspace blog.

    Peter – I hope you’ll enjoy The Third Secret as much as I did. It’s an unusual film but I really liked it.

    Jeremy – There is a lot of good stuff in The Nightcomers so hopefully my review didn’t read too negative. I think you’ll enjoy it a second time Jeremy but it’s hard to recommend to everyone. The soundtrack really doesn’t work with the film and sticks out like a sore thumb at times which is a shame. Another soundtrack would have helped the movie a lot I think. I haven’t listened to the commentary track yet so I can’t comment on it, but Winner is an insightful guy and I liked his brief introduction to the film a lot. I hope you watch it soon and write up your own review.

Comments are closed.