Blogs That Make You Think


Two fantastic bloggers – Dennis Cozzalio at Sergio Leone and the Infield Fly Rule and Stacie Ponder at Final Girl – were kind enough to give my own blog Cinebeats something called the Thinking Blogger’s Award recently and I’m super grateful for that, but there are rules that go along with this award which I’m having a hard time following. Here they are:

Thinking Blogger’s Award Rules

1. If, and only if your blog is one that is tagged on my list below, you must write a post with links to five other blogs you like that consistently make you think (hence, the Thinking Blogger’s Award).

2. Link to this post so people will know whose good idea all this was. (see above)

3. Proudly display the “Thinking Blogger Award” logo with a link to the post you wrote.


The hard part was trying to come up with my own list of 5 great blogs that deserve the Thinking Blogger’s Award because there are lots of fantastic blogs that I read every week on my “Blogroll” that make me think in one way or another. With that being said, here’s a very small sampling of some great blogs that make me think, but please check out my Blogroll for more great reading!

1. Moon in the Gutter
Jeremy Richey and I seem to have a lot of similar interests so it’s no wonder that we’ve become blogging buddies over the past 6 months. It would be easy to say that I love his Moon in the Gutter blog because he writes about a lot of stuff that interests me, which he does, but he also has a great easy going personality and I’m often impressed by his knowledge of films and music. I like the smart and personal style of his blog and if you enjoy good thoughtful writing then Moon in the Gutter is well worth a look.

2. The Horror Blog
Horror is far and away my favorite film genre, but I don’t write about it enough. Thankfully I’ve got The Horror Blog’s wonderful Weekly Roundtable to participate in which reminds me to spend a little energy every week thinking about horror films and why I love them so much. The Horror Blog is put together by Steven Wintle who has a great sense of humor and it comes across in his writing. The Weekly Horror Roundtable is one of the things I look forward to constantly since it brings together the thoughts & opinions of lots of great bloggers who share their ideas on the same topic.

3. If Charlie Parker was a gunslinger, there’d be a whole lot of dead copycats
If I’m having a bad day at work or the world just doesn’t seem right, I head over to this wonderful blog for some great eye-candy and it almost never fails to put a smile on my face and make me think. The blog is 99% visual, but the images shared are always poignant and interesting. It’s run by the very thoughtful Tom Sputen along with Stephen Cooke and Richard Gibson who all clearly have a great eye for thought provoking imagery.

4. Flickhead
The Flickhead blog is run by Ray Young and he was one of the first bloggers who welcomed me into the blogging world. Ray’s blog and website are chock-full of great writing about film and if you enjoy cinema they’re both stop worthy sites on the information super highway. Ray and I have exchanged films as well as pictures of our toy collections and I appreciate his opinionated style of writing even if we don’t always agree on everything, as well as his smart insights into the films he enjoys.

5. Esotika Erotica Psychotica
I’ve known Mike Kitchell for about 3 or 4 years now and I always enjoy reading his thoughts about films. We met online in various film communities and we share many similar interests, including a mutual love for giallo films. As the years have passed I’ve become increasingly impressed with his inquisitive mind and thoughtful examinations of the films he enjoys which he now shares in Esotika Erotica Psychotica. If you like interesting dark, erotic and esoteric cinema, Mike’s blog is a must read.

10 thoughts on “Blogs That Make You Think

  1. Keith says:

    Congrats on the award. You definitely deserve any award you get. Your blog is fantastic. Thanks for sharing some of your fav blogs with us. The only one I know of is Moon in the Gutter. I love it. I’ll definitely have to check out these other ones.

  2. Mike says:

    Hey thanks Kimberly! I really appreciate it, and you know I love your blog as well! I’ll try to do this later tonight, though I’m with you in the thought that picking only five would be difficult!

  3. Jeremy says:

    Thank you Kimberly,
    I am very moved. This is a great way to start my Monday off.
    I hope you keep finding stuff of interest over at Moon In The Gutter and I can’t thank you enough for all the support you’ve given me and the blog.
    Thanks again….

  4. cinebeats says:

    Flickhead, Mike, Jeremy & Steven – No need for thanking me! You all have terrific blogs that are totlly worthy of this silly award. 😉

    Keith – Thanks for all the recent comments! I hope you’ll check out the blogs I listed if you haven’t yet.

  5. Stacie says:

    Sorry to make you work for your award, but now I’ve discovered some new blogs, so you know…it was all worth it. 🙂

    Keep up the awesome work!

  6. Tom Sutpen says:

    Holy cats, Kimberly. I just saw this now.

    On behalf of Messrs. Cooke and Gibson and meself many many thanks for this endorsement. You do us great and bewildering honor.

    I am properly humbled!

Comments are closed.