News & Recommendations

If you’ve been a regular Cinebeats reader for awhile you’re probably aware that I love comic books. When Curt over at the wonderful Groovy Age of Horror site mentioned that he was interested in a few new contributors I figured I’d throw my hat into the ring since I have a large collection of groovy stuff that I’d like to share with others. I’m especially fond of vintage Horror manga illustrated and written by female Japanese artists so I’ll probably be sharing a lot of Japanese stuff with the Groovy Age of Horror readers. I’m going to try and post there at least 2 or 3 times a month so keep an eye out for my contributions.

The Groovy Age of Horror blog has long been one of my favorite blogs and it helped inspire me to create Cinebeats. If you enjoy vintage paperbacks, comics and fumetti I highly recommend stopping by the site and checking out all the fabulous eye-candy you can find there.

Speaking of great blogs. . .

Some of my favorite film books about sixties film sirens have been written by the talented and creative author Tom Lisanti. Tom is responsible for such wonderful publications as Fantasy Femmes of 60’s Cinema, Film Fatales, Drive-In Dream Girls and Hollywood Surf and Beach Movies: The First Wave, 1959-1969.

He’s also written for publications like Filmfax, Outré, Films of the Golden Age, Femme Fatales and most recently Cinema Retro.

Tom Lisanti has recently started his own blog to go along with his terrific website Sixties Cinema and if you’re a fan of films from that era and the beautiful women who starred in them, I highly recommend giving Tom’s website & blog a look. He shares lots of interesting tidbits and news with his readers that should appeal to other sixties cinema fans like myself.

6 thoughts on “News & Recommendations

  1. Jeremy says:

    Hey Kimberly,
    How strange, we just got his Hollywood Surf and Beach Movies: The First Wave, 1959-1969 book at the library where I work today and it looks great. I’m glad to know he has a blog and I will be sure to visit it.
    One of my most treasured bookes is his Fantasy Femmes of The Sixties which I got cover star Celeste Yarnall to sign for me when I met her a few years ago in Memphis.
    He puts together very cool books.
    Thanks for the link to his blog.

  2. Keith says:

    Thanks for the info about these blogs. I’m always looking for cool blogs to check out. Both of these look awesome. They are right up the alley of what I’m into. Thanks Kimberly.

  3. Joe Valdez says:

    I’ll be honest, the idea of vintage paperbacks and comics have always appealed to me a lot more than any of the actual content I’ve come across.

    That said, your passion for the art form comes through in everything you write, Kimberly, and I’m a big fan of your site. From the point-of-view of design, this is one of the finest looking blogs out there. Keep up the awesome work and I’m sure you’ll make me a convert to the art you so love.

  4. cinebeats says:

    Jeremy – I’m jealous of your signed copy of Fantasy Femme! It must have been fun to meet Celeste Yarnall and get your book signed.

    Keith – Hope you’ll check out Tom’s blog & site. I think you’d really enjoy them.

    Joe – Thanks so much for the nice comments about my blog! I really appreciate them. I can understand how one might think that lot of vintage pulp fiction and comics have more style over substance, but sometimes a little mindless eye-candy can be fun. I hope you’ll find something to enjoy about the groovy age style of Japanese manga I plan on covering at the Groovy Age of Horror blog. Thanks again!

Comments are closed.