The New Cinema Retro

The latest issue of Cinema Retro recently arrived in my mailbox and I think it’s one of their best issues yet. It has lots of great articles that will appeal to anyone who enjoys sixties and seventies era films as much as I do. I’ve mentioned before how much I love this magazine, but if I haven’t convinced you to become a subscriber yet, you really should reconsider it. Cinema Retro rightfully calls itself “The essential guide to movies of the ’60 & ’70s” so if you enjoy the kinds of films I write about here, you’ll definitely enjoy the magazine.

Issue #8 features a cover story about the terrific James Coburn Flint films called ‘Flint Unseen!” which includes lots of rare and never-before-seen photos and production stills from Our Man Flint (1966) and In Like Flint (1967). Other great spy related articles in this issue of Cinema Retro include Part II of an in-depth Interview with my favorite Man From U.N.C.L.E., David McCallum and an interview with the beautiful Bond Girl Luciana Paluzzi from Thunderball (1965). There is even an interesting article from Robert Sellers called “The Bond Film That Never Was” that offers an inside look at how Agent 007 almost came to the screen in a very different way.

You’ll also find terrific pieces about two of my favorite films, Mario Bava’s Danger: Diabolik (1968) and Federico Fellini’s La Dolce Vita (1960). Dave Brown’s tribute to Danger: Diabolik was fascinating to read and included information about the film that was new to me. I also really enjoyed reading film critic Shirley Sealey’s personal account of seeing La Dolce Vita when it was released in Italy and her brief meeting with Fellini.

The new issue also features a detailed behind-the-scenes look at the making of Dennis Hopper and Peter Fonda’s classic motorcycle film Easy Rider (1969), information about the upcoming DVD release of the Steve McQueen film The Sand Pebbles (1966) and Part II of a tribute to Elvis Presley’s female film co-stars such as Nancy Sinatra, plus lots more including reviews of new DVDs, books and CDs that retro cinema enthusiasts like myself should really enjoy.

Cinema Retro has recently updated their website and if you haven’t checked out their current layout you should stop by and give the new site a look. You can also subscribe to the magazine and purchase back issues there.

Cinema Retro : The essential guide to movies of the ’60s & ’70s

6 thoughts on “The New Cinema Retro

  1. Keith says:

    This magazine sounds amazing. I’ve had it recommended to me in the past. I really need to break down and subscribe to it. This issue would have been awesome since it’s got so much to do with spies. I love the Derek Flint movies. Coburn was so cool in them. I also enjoyed watching The Man From U.N.C.L.E. Thunderball is one of my favorite Bond films. Luciana Paluzzi and Claudine Auger are two of my favorite Bond girls. Plus it’s got a really cool theme song by Tom Jones.

  2. cinebeats says:

    Thanks for the comments!

    Keith – I think you would really enjoy the magazine. I hope you can get a copy of this new issue because it’s a great one.

    Javier – I really love your blog as well and I’ve added a link to my Blogroll.

  3. Pablo Villalobos says:

    Excuse my ignorance. This is the first time I see that guy with the white masked outfit. Is that a character from “The man from U.N.C.L.E., or from the James Coburn movies? Thanks

Comments are closed.