Celebrating Cannes 60th At Home

Like many people I would love to be in France this weekend, but I’ll have to settle for celebrating Cannes 60th Anniversary in the privacy of my own home. In true armchair traveler fashion I thought I’d share some tips on how you can throw your own 1960s-1970s style Cannes Festival at home for yourself and a few film loving friends.


Jean Shrimpton and Terence Stamp at Cannes (1965)

It’s impossible to have your own Cannes style Film Festival without some films, so here are a few suggestions for Double Features that are easily available on DVD. All the films listed were awarded and celebrated at Cannes during 1960-1979.

By Themes:
Swinging London
The Knack… and How to Get It (1965) – Winner of the Palme d’Or (Golden Palm) in 1965
Blow Up (1966) – Winner of the Palme d’Or (Golden Palm) in 1967

Madness and Horror
The Collector (1965) – Winner Best Actor Terence Stamp & Best Actress Samantha Eggar in 1965
Images (1972) – Winner Best Actress Susannah York in 1972

American Paranoia
The Conversation (1974) – Winner of the Palme d’Or (Golden Palm) in 1974
Taxi Driver (1976) – Winner of the Palme d’Or (Golden Palm) in 1976

Two by Luchino Visconti
The Leopard (1963) – Winner of the Palme d’Or (Golden Palm) in 1963
Death in Venice (1971) – Winner of 25th Anniversary Prize in 1971

By Country:
France
The Umbrellas of Cherbourg (1964) – Winner of the Palme d’Or (Golden Palm) in 1964
Violette (1978) – Winner Best Actress Isabelle Huppert in 1978

Italy
La Dolce Vita (1960) – Winner of the Palme d’Or (Golden Palm) in 1960
Two Women (1960) – Winner Best Actress Sophia Loren in 1961

Japan
Harakiri (1962) – Winner of Jury Special Prize in 1963
Kwaidan (1964) – Winner of Jury Special Prize in 1965

Germany
The Enigma of Kaspar Hauser (1974) – Winner of Jury Special Prize in 1975
The Tin Drum (1979) – Winner of the Palme d’Or (Golden Palm) in 1979


Naturally, you should have some beverages on hand for your private Film Festival. More adventurous film enthusiasts can always pick up a bottle of French Champagne or give the In the Spirits Cannes Cocktail Page a look. They offer lots of interesting cocktail recipes inspired by Cannes such as the tasty Palme d’Or featured below:

If you don’t drink alcohol don’t despair. Just substitute the Vodka for sparkling bottled water and you’ll have yourself an alcohol-free Palme d’Or.

You might also want to feed yourself or your guests, so I suggest giving the delicious cuisine of the French Riviera a try. You can find some good regional recipes at the French Riviera Magazine site for appetizers as well as main courses and desserts. Many of them are easy to put together for anyone who’s nervous about trying their hand at French cooking.

With good movies, good drinks and good food you can enjoy a little bit of the Cannes spirit right at home no matter where you are.

Save

Save

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Celebrating Cannes 60th At Home

  1. R.A. Naing says:

    Great call on Wyler’s The Collector. The first time I saw it was in a senior year high school film class. We were discussing adaptations from novel to screen, and after reading Fowles’s novel, I remember not really liking the film. But slowly, it grew on me, and continued to grow, and today I really enjoy it, especially for Stamp’s performance.

    May I also suggest The Ipcress File. Another british film (starring the great Michael Caine) that played in competition at the festival the same year as The Collector. It’s one of my very favorite spy films. Caine’s Harry Palmer, so unlike James Bond, is one of his best creations.

    Also, please check out my tribute to Cannes at my blog. I have put up a Trailer Compendium entry featuring only films that have played at the festival.

    Check it out here:
    http://directcinema.blogspot.com/2007/05/trailer-compendium-vol-6.html

  2. Jeremy says:

    Nothing really to add except a thanks for posting a picture of Jean and Terence that I don’t think I have ever seen. Wow, what an incredibly beautiful couple.
    Terence was one of the first people I wrote about over at my blog, I just love the guy. I wish he would write a forth volume to his auto-biographies, three of my favorite books.
    Speaking of Jean, where is Privilege on DVD?
    Great double feature selections….Thanks Kimberly.

  3. cinebeats says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts guys!

    R. A. – The Collector is one of my favorite films so it’s nice to meet someone else who enjoys it too. I also love The Ipcress File (and the rest of the films in Caine’s spy series). I’m rather nutty about spy films in general. I’m not sure why but I find them fascinating and entertaining. I didn’t know that The Ipcress File had been a Cannes contender, but that’s interesting to know. I enjoyed your Cannes post a lot. If.. is another favorite film of mine.

    Jeremy – Glad you liked the pic of Jean & Terence. They were an amazing couple! I’d love to see Privilege get an offical DVD release. You should write one of your great “where’s the DVD?” posts about it. 😉

Comments are closed.