Criterion Launches the “New Look”

Criterion has launched the “New Look” of their company and I’m not sure what I think of it yet. Change is always a bit awkward and I love the “Old Look” so the “New Look” will take a little time to get used to.

Their website has been updated and you can check out the “New Look” at their old URL: www.criterionco.com

Criterion’s list of upcoming August releases has also been updated. I think the most appealing thing Criterion will be releasing in August is Eric Rohmer’s Six Moral Tales. Eric Rohmer is a key figure in the French New Wave and his Six Moral Tales are an interesting look at contemporary morality in modern society. I’ve only seen one of the six films in Rohmer’s series (My Night at Maud’s about 12 years ago, but I really enjoyed it at the time) so I’m looking forward to watching all of them chronologically in the future. I want to see a little more of his work before I form any kind of solid opinion about Rohmer.

Criterion’s New August Releases
The Bakery Girl of Monceau (1963, Eric Rohmer)
Suzanne’s Career (1963, Eric Rohmer)
La Collectionneuse (1967, Eric Rohmer)
My Night at Maud’s (1969, Eric Rohmer)
Claire’s Knee (1970, Eric Rohmer)
Love in the Afternoon (1972, Eric Rohmer)
Six Moral Tales – Box Set of all the “Moral Tales” films listed above (1963-1972, Eric Rohmer)
Kicking and Screaming (1995, Noah Baumbach)
Seduced and Abandoned (1964, Pietro Germi)