Summer Reading

From my latest for the Morlocks

“I do a lot of reading all year long but during the summer months I tend to set aside some extra time to catch up with the books that have accumulated on my shelves. This is partially due to a habit I developed as a child. While other kids were outside playing and enjoying the bright sunshine I could often be found in my bedroom pouring over a good book. Even when my family would go on vacation I would always stick a book in my suitcase or duffel bag. For better or worse, many of my fondest childhood memories involve books that I read during the sweltering summer months while on camping trips and during long plane flights to visit grandparents. This summer I’ve started habitually reading some interesting non-fiction film related books so I thought I’d share some recent discoveries.”

I included some older books in my write-up such as Heroes of the Horrors (1975) and Big Bosoms and Square Jaws: The Biography of Russ Meyer, King of the Sex Film (2005) but I also include two 2012 releases, Restless Souls: The Sharon Tate Family’s Account of Stardom, the Manson Murders, and a Crusade for Justice along with Robert Sellers’ Don’t Let the Bastards Grind You Down: How One Generation of British Actors Changed the World.

Follow the link for more …
Summer Reading @ TCM’s Movie Morlocks

