John Barry’s BOOM! Soundtrack


Cover art for the new Boom! soundtrack release
Apologies for the lack of updates. I’ve been extremely busy lately and I expect to be busy all summer long but hopefully I’ll find some free time to update a bit more in the coming weeks.

In the meantime I wanted to let fans of the Oscar winning British composer John Barry (the James Bond films, Seance on a Wet Afternoon, The Knack …and How to Get It, The Ipcress File, Born Free, The Quiller Memorandum, Petulia, Walkabout, etc.) know that Harkit Records in the UK has just released his fascinating and experimental soundtrack from the film Boom! (1968) on CD for the first time. I’m also thrilled to have been involved with the project. Harkit Records contacted me and asked if they could publish part of my essay about the film as part of the CD liner notes and I happily agreed.

You can currently purchase John Barry’s Boom! soundtrack at Amazon or at online music shops like Movie Grooves in the UK. At the Movie Grooves site you can also listen to sample tracks from the score.

If you appreciate the impressive music John Barry recorded for films in the ’60s as much as I do you’ll definitely want to pick up a copy of his soundtrack for Boom! As I mentioned above, the score has never been made available on CD before and this is a great opportunity to hear some rare and wonderful music by one of Britain’s best composers.


Composer John Barry

19 thoughts on “John Barry’s BOOM! Soundtrack

  1. Kimberly, so glad to see a new post from you, especially given how busy you are. But to be included in the liner notes of a John Barry CD release? Wow!!! That’s incredible! I couldn’t even make the liner notes of a Styx compilation if I tried. Just remember me when your name is all over the place and I’m still trudging away at my blog.

    And as for Barry, I have a CD of several of his scores but none from Boom! so I’m just as excited to get the music as I am to see your printed words.

  2. Great to see you. I’ve missed you and your blog updates. I hope things are going as well as possible. I wish you the best. Take care.

  3. Thanks for the welcome back guys! Hopefully I’ll find some free time to update more regularly soon. In the meantime I hope you’re all having fabulous summers!

  4. Welcome back Kimberly!
    Congrats on getting a spot in the notes to what is an important release…Barry+Boom+Cinebeats equals a no brainer purchase for me…an essential release.

  5. That Boom! post was an excellent piece of writing and I am so glad it’s going to find an even wider audience. Welcome back, and whatever and whenever you post again, I’ll be rarin’ to read it.

  6. Your piece on “Boom” was possibly the most definitive wriing about it yet, so it’s nice to see someone with an eye for quality picked up on that. Congrats! And Welcome Back!

  7. Just want to add my name to the chorus of congratulations. John Barry was a freaking genius, and to be included in that is just too cool.

  8. It’s great to see your new post!
    “Boom”‘s soundtrack is really fascinating, as I remember the movie.

  9. Thanks again for all the nice comments and feedback everyone! If you happen to pick up a copy of the new Boom! CD I hope you’ll enjoy it.

    btw – You made me blush Peter, Richard & Siren! And Beat Girl is such a terrific film and the score is really amazing too. I can’t believe I forgot to mention it.

    Lastly, I have about 200+ emails in my inbox at the moment so if anyone sends me a note do not be surprised if it takes me awhile to get back to you!

  10. Wow! Very cool! :-)

    I enjoy your writing and I picked this CD up about two weeks ago from Dusty Groove America and have listened to it three or four times, but hadn’t checked out the liner notes till I saw your article. I also picked up the Danish DVD, based on your review of BOOM!

    Congrats!

    Michael

  11. There’s a Danish DVD of Boom!? Is there an Amazon for the folks in Legoland? I’ve been waiting for a copy of this for forever.

    Congrats, Kimberley! I must hunt this disc down.

  12. I’m listening to Boom at this moment in time and thought I’d google it up and arrived here! Great to see the photos from the sleeve notes enlarged. I’ve pretty much most of Barry’s soundtrack work and without a doubt this has to be one of his finest – ‘Follow Me’ & ‘Mary Queen Of Scots’ run a close second. A great site…your b/w photos are to be admired – liked the pic of Nick Cave. The dolls are not quite my thing though I’ve always hankered after a ‘Cher’ doll or p’raps a ‘Siouxsie’ – when I’ve more time I’ll sit down and read through your previous posts.
    Dominic

  13. I love movies and music. Movie soundtracks are one of my favorite venues for music, and John Barry created some of the most memorable soundtracks ever. Locating this blog was a great find for me. Thank you Cinebeats!

    Sincerely,
    Rod Tait

  14. Thanks for for the comments Michael, Stephen, Dominic and Rod! I’m really glad you enjoy Cinebeats. I’m still super busy but I hope to post a few updates soon. Thanks again!!

  15. Dear Kimberly
    I stumbled onto your blog recently and am so thrilled with it! Your film and music interests really fit my sensibilities so closely and the way you put it all together is just so slick and impressive! I’ll be reading avidly!

    Cheers~ Joey

Comments are closed.